Yakult 16 kms Recap

7 12 2008

The recent Yakult 10k/16k marathon ended earlier and my team joined in. However, there’s a problem before I could join…I’ve lost my race packet number! (whew!) This is my 47th competitions and first time to misplaced the most important stuff in any racing events. When I distributed the singlets and race packets to my team last week, and when I’m about to prepare last night, it was then I discovered that my race packet number is missing. I texted my team telling them of my dilemma and told them that there’s a possibility that I will not join todays’ race anymore. Some of them told me that I must be there, just run and do what the Bandits did in the 42 kms milo marathon, and the still inner voice of my “running addiction” prompted me to do that. Upon preparing for my things, I remembered that I was not able to join last years’ Yakult 16 kms although I was able to register, there’s this ray of hope that I could join systematically. I’m going to use my old race packet last year. I called up Bert Rodillas, my 60 year old buddy and asked him if he could describe to me the appearance of his race packet. When he told me all the data, I’ve found out that it’s almost the same with that of last year, bingo! The only problem now is that my supposed to be race number is 350+ something, but now since i’ll be using last years’ race packet number 654, my name will not appear on the official result. However, it’s far better than not running at all! Upon reaching the finish line, I received the commemorative Yakult finisher t-shirt marking their 30th year in the country, aside from the singlet they gave upon registration…And here are the data gathered from my timex heart rate monitor:

YAKULT 16 KMS (DEC 7, 2008)

TIME : 1 hour, 24 minutes, 35 seconds

IN ZONE: 1 hour, 24 minutes, 26 seconds

AVERAGE HOUR: 169

PEAK HOUR: 177

MINIMUM HOUR: 83

TOTAL CALORIES: 1,359

RECOVERY: 25 (174-149)

Furthermore, when I first joined Yakult 16 kms last 2006, my time then is 1 hour and 36 minutes, so I beat my previous time by 12 minutes. Here’s the order of my team when we reached the finish line.

1. Henry de Castro- 1.13 (the fastest in my group,and yet too humble.)

2. Me- 1.24

3. Rod Cameros- 1.26

4. Allan Limpiahoy- 1.28

5. Phillip Opulencia- 1.30

6. Amado Gerpacio- 1.31

7. Willy Eugenio-1.38

8. Bert Rodillas- 1.42

To my team, Congratulations to all of us and to all participants. May I mentioned also those three runners whom I encountered along the way and I have the opportunity of befriending them and shared the GOOD NEWS…Lonnie from BJMp, Anton from Malabon and Garry from Sta. Ana…. I’ve also met some of the Bandits…George and Bugobugo (the blogger); chatted with Dennis Enriquez; saw jinoe of manokan express and conversed with run unlimited. To all you guys, thanks for making my race complete!

God bless us all and to God be the Glory!

Today’s Verse

Wicked men are overthrown and are no more, but the house of the righteous stands firm.

Proverbs 12:7 (NIV)

Thoughts on Today’s Verse…

This is eventually true in every culture. An evil leader is murdered by his even more evil successor. Ruin comes to the one who brings ruination on others. But ultimately, this result will be fully true only when Jesus comes and judges all people justly and with nothing hidden. Then, God’s righteousness will shine like the sun and reign with him in heavenly glory which will not spoil, perish, or fade. Justice with mercy, love with strength, and life without death will find their way in the city God has prepared for those who love him.

My Prayer…

Dear Father in heaven, may your Kingdom come with power in our world and may your will be done here on earth just as it is done in heaven. Overthrow the wicked, and let those you have made righteous in Jesus stand in the presence of your glory and grace. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 12 2008
sfrunner

Congratulations on the 16K my friend. You ran well despite losing the bib number. Looks like your team did well too. Take care and God bless!

8 12 2008
runnerforchrist

Hi sfrunner…Yes you’re right and thanks a lot too for dropping by.

God bless you.

8 12 2008
run unltd.

Hey Ronnie, good to bump with you again at the race. Sadly we cannot talk for a little longer, pareho palagi nagmamadali. Hopefully next time we will. Congratulations to you and to the team. Keep on running.

8 12 2008
runnerforchrist

Hi run unltd (Vener?)…Yes, next time let’s chat longer coz last Sunday, we’re so engrossed with the “dream match” hehe and our driver wanted to go home immediately. Our next run will be the “Takbo sa Kabundukan” in Montalban Rizal this Dec. 21, 2008. My team will be participating in the 10 and 21 kms…Me, I will try again in the 21 kms event.

“Be kind,
For everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.”

God bless you bro and see you at the finish line.

Leave a Reply

