Running Vs. Cycling…

15 03 2009

I have a friend named Danny who is young and energetic…he is an elite runner before! But for some unknown reasons, I have never seen him in any races again. Until one time, while I’m doing my long run in Daang Hari, I saw him riding in his racer bike. We have a brief conversation and one thing I can’t forget about that encounter was when he told me that he will never run again and biking is now his sports and hobby. I want to ask him why and what are the reasons but since we are both moving in opposite directions, I wasn’t able to do that.

Also, in our place….some of my former running buddies are now bikers! Although the runners here are still many, bikers exceed us by the numbers.

Intrigued by what Danny said and the ongoing scenario here, I bought a racer bike too and tried to figure out what’s in it and why they’re changing their first love of running into the thrill of biking.

Now, after spending some time with my bike…I discovered the following:

1. While running is the best exercise for me, biking is more enjoyable and relaxing.

2. Except for accident, biking will give you less injury.

3. I can go beyond 160 kms on my bike, while I’m nervous to think that I will finish the 102 kms ultramarathon. (lol)

4. While biking seems an expensive sports, running too is costly.

5. Running will give you a more intense workout in less time. However, a person would need to be at a reasonable fitness level to run 4.8 miles without causing themselves distress. Whereas, it would be easier to ride 20 miles on a bicycle, at 10 mph, to burn the same amount of calories. There would also be far less stress on the body’s joints.

6. While I like biking, I feel like it can’t compare to running, at least emotionally.


7. What I do like about biking is that it evens my muscles out. My upper leg muscles look more balanced with my calf muscles now. I’m hoping it also makes my knees stronger.

8. Also, biking, I hate to say it, but it does seem to make me a better runner. I know some people really don’t like to hear that, but cross training with the bike…I feel like it’s made me stronger in different areas of the body that running doesn’t improve.

9. The standard comparison is that one mile of running equals four miles of cycling.

10. Running is better because to ‘run’ you actually have to move at a speed fast enough to work the heart and lungs pretty good. Biking, on the other hand, you can move in a pretty good pace and just ‘spin’. You’re exercising but not working the heart and lungs as hard as running would.
In other words, you can (relatively) relax while riding and still keep a 10-14mph pace. Where as, if you relax when jogging you find yourself no longer jogging but walking…

biking

running

See you in Condura 21k this Sunday!

God bless us.

“Cleanse me from secret faults.” Psalm 19:12

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

