Not Running For A Day Or Two…Why?

13 04 2009

This coming Friday, April 17, 2009…I will be “off” in the blogging community for at least a day or two, for that will be my “Prayer and fasting” days. A day of sorrow and repentance. I will be all alone in the Prayer Mountain Montalban Rizal carrying only enough liquids and no solid foods, no cellphone, ipod, laptop…only my Old Bible, my journal and my parker pen. No running or any other physical activities there.

The Word of God says,” You turn to me now with all your heart, and with fasting, with weeping and with mourning, says the Lord.” -Joel 2:12 These 2 days will be days of sorrow for me, but why?

Sorrow can be good for the soul. It can uncover hidden depths in ourselves and in God. It causes us to think earnestly about ourselves. It makes us ponder our motives, our intentions, our interests. We get to know ourselves as never before.

Sorrow also helps us to see God as we’ve never seen Him. The prophet Job who suffered greatly said, out of his terrible grief,” I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eyes see You.” -Job 42:5

“Sorrow is better than laughter, for by a sad countenance the heart is made better.” -Ecc. 7:3. Those who don’t let sorrow do it’s work, who deny it, trivialize it, or try to explain it away, remain shallow and indifferent. They never understand themselves or others very well.

My body was used severely lately, that ultramarathon and the training behind it. I think I need to rest it for a while and let my mind do the chores, this time I will use it for meditation, prayer, thanksgiving, supplication, intercession…I will come nearer to the abode of my God, like Moses at the top of the Mt. Sinai before receiving the Ten Commandments. I need it very badly, I need it to recharge, for empowerment, for the Anointing.

For some, this may be a ridiculous act, a corny practice and a stereotyped method…but believe me, I have many ups and downs in my life, this practice carried me through victoriously and it never failed me yet. Once you come closer to the Master through prayer, fasting and mourning, you will live above any circumstances.

Do you have any burdens right now or a yoke too hard to carry, let me know it and entrust it to me. I will bring it there at the mountain and I will leave it at the foot of the One who cares and loves us so much, that He died there at the cross for you and for me.

Or If you have time, why not try it? But you need to be a believer first, and I’m so willing to guide you.

God bless you and see you at Bataan 102 Victory Party this coming Thursday.

“With God on our side, we can never be outnumbered!.”

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 04 2009
rick gaston

The reason I switched to ultras from marathoning was to get off the road. Here the ultras are on soft trail. I can only imagine what 102 kilometers of road can do to legs and body. Enjoy your time with the Lord.

14 04 2009
itsmysocalledlife

May God bless you on these days and may it be a sweet fellowship with our Lord. God bless you.

14 04 2009
runnerforchrist

Hi Rick…my next ultra this coming May 23 is a 100k trail run, off road and pollution free. I will be having a good time their with my Master…praising him in the woods! I’m doing it when I was a teenager. I’m hoping I could still do that in a race like this.

Hi Let, thanks for those words. I need it. I maybe loaded physically but I’m low bat spiritually. God bless you.

20 04 2009
Dirnov

Ugh, I liked! So clear and positively.
Dirnov

Leave a Reply

