The Many Faces Of Being An Ultramarathoner…

14 04 2009

“Ronnie, congrats…you’re now an ultramarathoner, and you’re the only one in our group who was able to conquer such distance.”

“You’re great!”

“Amazing feat bro, you’re one of a kind.”

These were the words I received from the circle of my friends, be it a runner or mere sympathizers. My common reply was always simple, “Glory to God or God be praised for it.” Some were just puzzled by my reply. Some just ignored it.

While majority of my friends believed that I was able to survive that 102k ultramarathon, still some were doubtful on whether or not I could finish this race. And so when S’ Jovie posted the result, I sent them sms telling them that I’m on the list and they can check it, 49th finisher out of 81 who joined this event…not to brag about my accomplishment but to show them that I really did finish this race.

I can’t blame them If they have doubt on me. I’m the youngest in our running community when it comes to experience. Some of them are running for almost ten years, others 7, 5 and majority more than 10 years. I’m the only one who is 3 years old.

When I joined my first ever marathon, I’m only a 10 month old in running then and many raised their eye-brows for still, they are not yet marathoners even up to now. I once again joined my 2nd and 3rd marathons on my 2nd year as a runner and became an ultramarathoner on my 3rd year.

But this achievement will not make me proud or boastful. I will treat this thing as ordinary race because I’m only an ordinary person. While I do have now a bragging right to be called an Ultramarathoner, this will not penetrate deep into my skin. I am always reminding myself that there is always someone better and I’m nothing without HIM.

In any field of endeavors, there will always be those who will doubt on what you’ll say and apprehensive on what you can do and very few will be loyal to you. Good thing is, we can prove that we’re for real when we do the talk and set a good example. I am not a saint here speaking, I’m only sharing based on my experience.

John Ruskin once said, “I believe that the first test of a truly great man is his humility. I do not mean by humility, doubt of his own power. But really great people have a curious feeling that the greatness is not in them, but through them. And they see something divine in others and are endlessly, foolishly, incredibly merciful.”

Right thinking leads to right living.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 04 2009
ricov

“But really great people have a curious feeling that the greatness is not in them, but through them.” — great line

1 08 2009
Marky_mark

I’m nothing without HIM. . .

this really hit me Sir Ronnie thanks !

GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME !

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

Marky Mark…that’s always true.Amen!

Leave a Reply

