When Endurance Fails!

23 04 2009

In his book, Endurance, Alfred Lansing tells of the incredible journey of Sir Ernest Shackleton in 1915 across 1,280 kilometers of an iced-filled ocean. It was bitterly cold and his safety was constantly threatened by gale-force winds. No one had ever made that exceedingly difficult journey before; and it was not until 1957 that an expedition with heated, tracked vehicles and radio communication attempted what he did. His journey has been called one of the most heroic sea journey of all time.

Last April 5, 2009, I attempted an almost impossible feat by joining a 102 kilometer Ultramarathon race and reaching kilometer 80, with little strength left on me, dehydrated, hungry, with no sleep, running for more than 10 hours already and exposed against the scorching heat of the sun, with blisters around my feet -I almost tempted to give up. I knew I can’t endure any longer!

And then I prayed, “Lord, help me!” It’s like the prayer of Peter when he was about to sink in the water and Jesus lifted him up…and the same thing happened to me! He gave me the strength that I needed until I reached the finish line.

What transpired to Sir Ernest Shackelton when he survived that 1,280 kilometer journey also happened to me. The distance and weather may be different, but the amount of endurance we applied maybe almost equal at a certain point. For sure, Sir Ernest also reached his limit, but good thing was-we both continued and persevered!

At the end of our strengths and resources is the helping hand of God who takes us beyond ourselves. When you’re tempted to give up, pray, “God help me!” Nothing of value is ever accomplished by giving up. Take one more step and one more, and that will be enough. Quitting is not an option when you have a passion for success. Remember, when endurance fails, just call on Him and He will provide you with enough strength and power to continue.

gbp2

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” -Psalm 73:23

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

