Running For Life Or Running For Dinner?

24 04 2009

There is an old fable about a dog that boasted of his ability as a runner. One day he chased a rabbit and failed to catch it. The other dogs ridiculed him on account of his previous boasting. His reply was, “You must remember that the rabbit was running for his life, while I was only running for my dinner.” The incentive is all important. Your success in life depends on your motive.

What motivates me to run?

Before I joined the Bataan 102k Ultramarathon, I said to myself that after that event, I will take my Sabbatical rest in running maybe 2 to 4 months and I will not join any competitions during that period, but today I ran 3 hours in preparation for the TNF100 this coming May 23, 2009.

It seems that running is my life, and my day is not complete without it. Aside from the many benefits, running gives me a chance to reflect on my life, and through it I can communicate clearly with my Master. Praying inside my room is different from praying while I’m running. Those routes have become my altar…

And in one of those routes, I was able to share the GOOD NEWS to Josie while I’m running one day. This woman was paralyzed because of a stroke and she was being accompanied by her 2 nurses and a driver on a wheelchair. I don’t know this woman personally but the Spirit of God prompted me to stop for a while and I shared to her the GOOD NEWS, which I’m always doing If I have the opportunity. Right there and then, this woman accepted JESUS CHRIST as her personal LORD and SAVIOUR and the next Sunday, she attended the WORSHIP service in the nearby church. God can heal her but the greatest healing of all is when our sins are forgiven and JESUS CHRIST becomes the driver of our lives.

I chose to be identified with Christ, that’s why I’m running for HIM. I am His representative. Majority will not accept it, sounds ridiculous because for them, religion and running can’t be mixed.

“Whatever you do, do it for the Lord and not for men.” -Colossians 3:23

Christ’s followers maybe not “IN” in this world or in some parts of the running community for like in days of old, they chose Barabbas to be freed and let JESUS died on the cross. All of the disciples died a cruel death except John and even in our modern age, Christians are being isolated. I can’t blame these people, am I greater than my Master? If He was maltreated and maligned, can I expect the other way?

I am so thankful for those runners/bloggers who accepted me and became my friends, those contributors of this blog, I will not forget to mention all of you in my daily prayers…

My motivation in running is when I have the opportunity to share THE GOOD NEWS- to give a message of hope and deliverance and see sinners turn from their wicked ways and return to God-and it’s the greatest feeling in the world!

God bless us and see you at the TNF100!

“I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live.” -JESUS CHRIST (John 11:25)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

