TNF100:Conquer Those Giants!

28 04 2009

“It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better.
The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.” – Teddy Roosevelt

TNF100 is fast approaching and as I’m encountering some problems particularly in the training area which I mentioned in my post yesterday (TNF100: Running In Dirt and Mud?), some of the people behind me are lashing out (again!) negative remarks in my participation in my second ultramarathon just in a span of not less than 2 months. Some of those ill-advised remarks that I personally heard were:

1. I’ll break my bones.

2. Trail running is so difficult, I might just ruining myself and probably get injured in the process.

3. My recovery time is not enough. I need some time to rest.

4. Since I don’t have proper training on the trail, I can’t finish this race.

To all who gave such remarks, while some of you have positive points there…thank you very much but I will not retreat nor deter my plan in finishing this course.

You know my greatest enemy in this race is not only them- for those discouraging words, but myself! As I’ve said in my previous post yesterday, I’m worried, for my lack of training in the trail.

There is a perfect example of the true enemy being within our hearts. The Lord spoke to Moses in the Old testament (Numbers 13) and commanded him to send out spies in the land of Canaan. Moses chose two men from each of the 12 tribes of Israel. After 40 days, the men returned and reported that the land, “certainly does flow with milk and honey.” The promises of God were both good and rewarding-if they could be taken.

But the men added, “We are not able to go up against the people, for they are too strong for us….the land through which we have gone, is spying it out, is a land that devours its inhabitants, and all the people whom we saw in it are Giants, we became like grasshoppers in our own sight, and so we were in their sight.”

Two men, Joshua and Caleb gave different report: “We should by all means go up and take possession of it, for we shall surely overcome it.”

We all know the outcome-the Israelites conquered the land of Canaan.

Whose side are you? Those men or Joshua and Caleb?

I will definitely be on the side of Joshua and Caleb.

Our true enemies are not the people who seemingly have the power to stop us
or those Giants who are their to devour us-and indeed they will If we’ll let them.

Our true enemies are found within us, discouragement, hurt feelings, laziness, self pity, withdrawal pessimism and dejection. It’s the unwillingness to try, to fight, to conquer, to be diligent.

I may or may not be able to finish this race, but the words of Theodore Roosevelt will be one of my guiding principles: (And I’ll quote this again)

The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

I’ll conquer those Giants again while my detractors are watching…How I wish they too joined me here and discover for themselves the thrill, the excitement, the fun and the challenge of being an Ultramarathoner, so that they will understand and know its true essence!

TNF100-come what may, but I’ll be there!

And how about those giants? Well, I’ll just prepare my sling-like what David does to Goliath.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 04 2009
kingofpots

find time to recon the place this friday (may 1) or saturday and spend the whole day by just walking the trails. there is no mud in the area but lots of lahar and river crossings. the place is hot but it rains in the afternoon. try to cross the river with your running shoes and try to run with them while they are wet until they get dry. the results of your recon will erase your doubts and will give you more confidence. good luck!

29 04 2009
runnerforchrist

Sir Jovie…thanks again for visiting and I’ll surely take heed your advice. I will trek almost the same venue this coming Monday ’til Wednesday. It may not be in Sacobia Clark but at least the route will have the same or almost vicinity like that in Sacobia.

God bless.

30 04 2009
rickgaston

Don’t worry about detractors, I have many and I’ve been doing this for 8 years. Sometimes it’s tough because some of their points can be valid and some of them are family. Do your thing. Explore and push your boundaries, don’t worry about the rest. There will always be people who will criticize you and sometimes it’s not you, it’s them and their insecurities. Run on. Maybe you can, maybe you can’t, go find out by doing it.

Leave a Reply

