I Feel The Need – The Need For Speed!

8 05 2009

“Just remember, once you’re over the hill you begin to pick up speed.” -Arthur Shopenhauer, German Philosopher 1788-1860

After this TNF100 solo, my goal is to improve my speed after resting maybe 4 to 6 weeks. These 2 Ultramarathons (BDM and TNF) really made me slower and out of sync for almost 2 months now and I missed those times when I can run a 5 minute or less per kilometer. Even though there’s this speed training integrated in my program i.e 4×1.00 (3.00) or 4×1.00 (2.00), once or two times a week, I think it’s not enough and my body yearns for more “speed” sessions.

turtle


I admire some of my classmates in BDM who were visible in road races right after the 102k event. They’re tireless, young and very energetic. Sometimes, I envied them for it seems their feet were not made of clay, not like mine. But you know, I’m also grateful for my fate. This sports exposed my limitation, my waterloo and the need to rely more on HIM.

My best PR in 10k was 44 minutes, but that was a year ago. Improving it will be my goal next year. Now, I do have this endurance already and I’ll concentrate on my speed after this TNF event. If my time will allow me, I’ll join running clinics and be a disciple of an expert.

In running, don’t stop exploring and challenge yourself and learn something new, so that when the time of your retirement in this field comes, you can say to yourself, “I did those insurmountable feat, therefore I’m happy and contented.”

The Lighter Side: Whenever you’re tempted to tell your troubles to other people, remember that half of your listeners aren’t interested, and the rest are glad you’re finally getting what’s coming to you.

God be Praised!

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord and not for men.” -Colossians 3:23


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

