I Gonna Need A Bigger Boat!

9 05 2009

Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape. ~Author Unknown

My first ever Yoga session happened today and my Teacher was none other than my running buddy, Bert Rodillas. This guy at his age of 60, was still a strong runner, with two full Marathons already in his resume with PRs of 4.45 and 4.34 respectively (Subic Marathon and Milo Marathon 2008), but his specialty is in the field of yoga. I’m glad to be one of his students and hopefully, excel too in this field.

bert

Me and Bert, in one of our long-runs early this year (San Pedro Laguna to SM Dasmarinas Cavite).

090520091101

Our training ground during Yoga Session (Bert’s Residence)

090520091099

Looks easy, but hard to imitate!

090520091103

090520091104

090520091105

090520091106

090520091107

090520091108

090520091109

090520091111

090520091112

090520091115

090520091116

Whew! I don’t know when can I reach this level of flexibility for Bert is doing this for so many years now. But one thing is sure, I’ll be his ardent student from now on. I’m so grateful for him for giving me this opportunity and all of my sessions are FREE!

And here’s me doing my first ever Yoga…

090520091113

090520091114

Early at this position, I can’t hardly move, my knees were aching and my feet were trembling….I gonna need a bigger boat! Little by little, I’ll be able to master those positions.

My yoga sessions will be during Saturdays and Sundays only but I’ll practice it daily. Thank you, Bert for making this possible.
God loves me so much that He’s giving me so many friends. They’re my true and priceless possession.

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire…” -Psalms 40:2


Actions

Information

6 responses

9 05 2009
The Running Ninja

Bro,

I’ll be really cautious about your latest activity. Yoga’s seemingly innocent positions are actually a form of worship to Hindu Gods. I remember a missionary going to India and Hindu Gurus or what they consider holy men were doing Yoga positions right in the street-in worship to their Gods.

They just don’t mix bro. Do a research in the Internet and so many subjects have been discussed about this topic. Study the history of Yoga especially its origin.

Sam
The Running Ninja
http://www.therunningninja.com

9 05 2009
runnerforchrist

Thanks for the input Sam. I’m only doing that “yoga” thing for stretching, cross training and flexibility purposes, other than that, It’s a taboo for me. Bert is also a God fearing man and there’s no chanting or whatsoever during our sessions.

God bless bro.

10 05 2009
ganns

Yoga is advocated by Dr. Don Colbert in his book, “The Seven Pillars of Health.” Colbert is a Christian and provides significant direction for Christians who want to take advantage of the many physical benefits yoga can provide. (I’ve read the book.)

I wouldn’t worry. Ronnie’s grounded enough in his faith to not let the potentially spiritual side of yoga interfere with his relationship with God.

10 05 2009
rickgaston

I agree. You can do the physical activity without the praying and chanting. Personally I think Yoga is one of the best cross-training activities you can do. It strengthens you from the inside out. I used to do it but I fell out of practice. It’s a good thing you have Bert watching you do your poses, that’s the hardest part, getting the form right.

12 05 2009
therunningninja

I always remember WWJD whenever I’m clueless whether what I’m doing is right or wrong. WWJD is what would Jesus Do…i’m sure Jesus won’t do yoga when He needs to loosen up his muscles*laughs*

Sam

13 05 2009
Raine

I think it is all up to one’s conscience and personal convictions. If we feel guilty doing something, then that thing is sin to us. But it may not be for other people. Yoga is a gray area not specifically addressed in the Bible, among many others.

Leave a Reply

