A Long Row To Hoe!

10 05 2009

“You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.” -Albert Einstein

While I don’t have any plan of going to Sacobia Clark to have tune-up runs before the May 23, 2009 main event, I would rather train in some of the trails here in Laguna and Cavite. For me, doing so will give me additional exhilaration and excitement.

Although it’s obligatory to study your enemy like in boxing and basketball, in running you can have the luxury of not doing it, although it’s highly advisable. In my experiences, running the course on the first try can be enjoyable and very fulfilling but doing it again, the excitement becomes lesser than the first. This is why I opted not to visit Sacobia to reckon the place. I leave it that way, be it hard or easy-I’ll discover and conquer that place on my first try!

However, upon reading “miraclecello’s blog “Reckon Sacobia” just now, I said to myself, “Whew, this TNF100 with its’ many traps and dangers is not only a race, but an “Amazing Race” in the making. This race is a long row to hoe, a difficult task that can only be done in a long period of time. While I was able to finish BDM102 in 17 hours and 28 minutes, this TNF100, although shorter by 2 kilometers, is a tough nut to crack and I’ll be fortunate enough to finish this in 20 hours. It means if the race will start at exactly 4am, I can reach the finish line at 12 midnight.

Can you imagine running between 6pm up to 12 midnight, already ran a distance of 60+ kilometers, maybe alone, in the woods-tired, hungry and in pain?

What if your headlamp/flashlight fails?

Are you going to blow your whistle and quit?

Or continue the race instead?

TNF100mania is here. May the Lord gives us saving grace to finish this race.

The Lighter Side: The story about a man browsing in a store and shocked to see God as a vendor. Man: Lord, what are You selling? GOD: Whatever your heart desires! Man: I want peace of mind, happiness and freedom from fear, for me and the whole world! GOD: (smiling), I don’t sell fruits here, only seeds!

God be praised!

“Be strong and of good courage for the Lord God is with you wherever you go.” -Joshua 1:9

Actions

Information

One response

11 05 2009
bong ortiz

With your faith, you’ll be alright Ronnie.

Take care, recover well, train more , rest, and run strong.

Leave a Reply

