A Penny For Your Thoughts…

12 05 2009

Here are some quotations about running that I compiled…

“Life is complicated. Running is simple. Is it any wonder that people like to run?”-KEVIN NELSON, The Runner’s Book of Daily Inspiration
“Running should be a lifelong activity. Approach it patiently and intelligently, and it will reward you for a long, long time.”-MICHAEL SARGENT

“Play not only keeps us young but also maintains our perspective about the relative seriousness of things. Running is play, for even if we try hard to do well at it, it is a relief from everyday cares.”-JIM FIXX

“When you have the enthusiasm and the passion, you end up figuring how to excel.”-DEENA KASTOR

“Running long and hard is an ideal antidepressant, since it’s hard to run and feel sorry for yourself at the same time. Also, there are those hours of clearheadedness that follow a long run.”-MONTE DAVIS

“After a week of the contained chaos that is my job, I need some solitary running time. On Sundays, I can unwind and reconnect with the natural world.”-LINDA JONES
“Methinks that the moment my legs began to move, my thoughts began to flow.”-HENRY DAVID THOREAU
“It is better, I think, to begin easily and get your running to be smooth and relaxed and then to go faster and faster.”-HENRY RONO
“If you become restless, speed up. If you become winded, slow down. You climb the mountain in an equilibrium between restlessness and exhaustion.”-ROBERT PIRSIG

“I give my staff my running schedule six months in advance. God help them if they put something on top of it.”-Former Arkansas Governor MIKE HUCKABEE

“Running is the space in my day when I feel the most beautiful – when I don’t feel judged by others. And that’s what I want for all little girls.”-MOLLY BARKER, Founder of Girls on the Run International

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 05 2009
Bradpete

I love all the awesome quotations.

13 05 2009
kingofpots

nice quotations to remind us the importance of running.

13 05 2009
ricov

Nice quotes. Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

13 05 2009
Toby

Great post, it’s so apt, thought provoking & inspiring! God bless1 Thanks!

13 05 2009
rick gaston

I’ll contribute one of my all time favorites:

“Speed is sex … distance is love.” – David Blaikie

Leave a Reply

