TNF-The Needed Failure!

26 05 2009

Failure is a detour, not a dead-end street. Zig Ziglar

How you respond to failure is a barometer of your strength and character. The lessons you learn from failure help you mature and gain a new perspective on life.

Take for example Janet Lynn, a five time U.S champion who won the bronze medal at the 1972 Winter Olympics. She was favored to win the gold. However, she fell during her free skate performance and with her fall went her hopes for the gold.

She said, “When I knew I couldn’t win, I was very distressed and sad. I went back to the Olympic Village, and I began crying and arguing with God, saying, “I wanted to do it for You, my nation and my coach. I feel like I am such a huge failure.”

Then being a committed Christian, she began putting the whole thing into perspective. She said, “I gathered myself all I could and thought, perhaps there was a bigger purpose to my skating, to show God’s love and express the gift for skating He gave me.” And Lynn kept smiling , winning the hearts of people who saw how gracefully she handled failure.

How do you handle failure? Some become angry, some blame themselves, some turn and run away. Yet some rise from their failure and eventually do succeed. If God didn’t give you your gold or your dream, it doesn’t mean He has forsaken you. Failure is a hard teacher, but through it we can learn to glorify God. He never promises to give you everything you ask for. Instead, he promised to meet your needs. He also has a will that maybe different from yours.

After the TNF100, I’ll run an 8 miler in the IE8 race this coming Sunday, a 10k in the PTAA race on June 14, 2009 and maybe join the Botak100k solo on June 28, 2009. Sacobia was a thing of the past and I’ll not dwell on it. Running will continue in my veins and system.

Sometimes, I need failure to train more and strive more. It’s a painful experience but necessary to really appreciate the beauty and mystery of “running.”

God be praised!

“Running gives me a sense of controlling my life. I like the finiteness of runs, the fact that I have a clear beginning and end. I set a goal and I achieve it. A good run makes you feel sort of holy.”-Nancy Gerstein, runner

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 05 2009
broj

A true Christian perspective bro. God bless! We will be running on the different side of the road, sa Earth Run kami ni Swthrt. Hope to see you along the way.

26 05 2009
Jonnifer

I don’t know what to say after what happened. I just wish you the best of luck during your next race. Also, may I suggest you google the principle “specificity of training” before you tacke your next ultra.

Regards.

26 05 2009
runnerforchrist

Bro J…I want also to join that earth run (Nice singlet) if not for this Unicef race this coming Sunday and hoping to meet you in some other races.
God bless.

Atty Jon…I googled it and learned so much. Don’t worry, those short distances will not affect my focus/training in ultra running. Congrats for making it to the Top 10. You’re such an elite in ultra-running!
God bless.

27 05 2009
Bong Ortiz

In our eyes, you’re a winner already by giving your all at Sacobia despite all the difficulties and hardships you encountered. You showed us courage, determination ,persistence and the wisdom to make the right choice when you’ve reached the end of your physical and mental limitations. Rest, recover and run stronger again.

27 05 2009
ferdie

Congrats! for what you have accomplished again, your recent experience is incomparable whether you win or lose, iilan lang ang nakakagawa nyan, in my 35 years of running, countless failures na ang naranasan ko, failure comes whether short or long hard run, di natin masabi, runners just like you and me are like gladiators in an arena full of uncertainties, to overcome this, we have to fight and continue running!

Leave a Reply

