The Best Image.

7 06 2009

Honesty is the best image. Ziggy

I was perplexed when my name was called as the 3rd place winner in the age category for the 10k race here in San Pedro Laguna way back in 2007, a year after I became a runner. There was a cash prize and a trophy, very tempting for a neophyte runner like me. The crowd applauded and as I stepped up on the stage, I whispered to the Organizer, “Sir…I don’t deserve this award, for my total distance was lacking by some 100 meters or more.” The Organizer, his eyes wide open in disbelief, reiterated that I’ve won based on their records, but I insisted that I am not, for I know that I got lost-making my way shorter than the normal route. And so the Organizer called up the real winner, while I went back at the sideline cheering for that deserving individual.

When I was in College, and as a working student in one of the fast-food chain Restaurants at night, there was this foreign customer who accidentally left his wallet with big amount of money in dollars. At that time, I badly needed cash to pay for my tuition fee and house rental and when I saw it, the temptation to get it was so strong! I’m the closing crew in the dining area and no one will know about it-except God! I brought that wallet to my Manager on duty and two days after that, the owner of that wallet returned while I’m on my rest day. During the Monthly Gen Meet, the store awarded me ‘the best employee of the Month’ and that Manager cited my deeds. I’m only a trainee then, one month old in that Company when that incident happened.

My mother used to tell me always while still alive, “Son, be honest in all of your dealings and remember not to get what is not yours.” To this day, I’m doing my best to apply those words.

While it’s hard to live a righteous life in this sinful world, I believe living the opposite is much harder. The lives of dishonest, cheaters and corrupt individuals are grievous and burdensome. Guilt will always be upon them and troubles will not depart from their houses.

In 1924 Liberty magazine sent out 100 letters to people selected at random throughout the U.S enclosing $1 bill, saying it was an adjustment of an error which the addressed had complained of-which really did not exist. Of the 100 recipients, 27 returned the dollar, saying it was a mistake. Then in 1971, Liberty again conducted the same test. But now only 13 returned the money!

As Benjamin Franklin once said, “Let honesty be your constant companion…” and this too I pray everyday. Let me not fail the test and depart from it and when my life is over someday, I want the whole world to remember me, not just as a runner or an athlete, but an honest man like His Creator.

God be Praised!

The Lighter Side:

The early bird might get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

I thought I wanted a career, turns out I just wanted paychecks.

First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

My psychiatrist told me I was crazy and I said I want a second opinion. He said okay, you’re ugly too.

Why do women have smaller feet than men? It’s one of those “evolutionary things” that allows them to stand closer to the kitchen sink.

Materialism: buying things we don’t need with money we don’t have to impress people that don’t matter.

Women like silent men, they think they’re listening.

Hospitality: making your guests feel like they’re at home, even if you wish they were.

I like work. It fascinates me. I sit and look at it for hours.

Evening news is where they begin with ‘Good evening’, and then proceed to tell you why it isn’t.

Politicians hate cheaters, they don’t want competitor.

“He waits for a city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.” -Hebrews 11:10

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 06 2009
kingofpots

nice post. you can count by your fingers of people who are honest nowadays.

8 06 2009
runnerforchrist

Sir Jovie…thanks for the input, the road less traveled-by is hard and only few take this course, I’m trying to embrace this legacy as long as I live.

8 06 2009
Bong Ortiz

Excellent post Ronnie. This is a good post for people to read particularly politicians and government officials in our country where honesty is I think lacking.

Leave a Reply

