Predicaments Of Botak100!

24 06 2009

“The Lord delights in the way of a man whose steps he has made firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” -Psalms 37:23-24

difficulty

Yesterday, just 3 days left before the Botak100 event, I discovered that my car has some mechanical trouble and so I brought this to a reliable car technician to have it checked up and the assessment was given to me some 20 minutes later, ball joints must be replaced and my signal light was defective too, I told the technician to just replace it but he said they don’t have ball joints and signal light for this type of car (Daewoo Espero Limited Edition 2000 model Matic).

I called up Good Gear in Pasay City, the sole distributor of all Korean car’s spare parts but unfortunately, they don’t have ‘those parts’ at this time, delivery will be coming next week or the most is until July 15, 2009.

It’s no problem if I’ll be commuting from now on until the technician fixes it , but my concern is all about the Botak100. I’ll be using that car as my convoy and back-up. It’s hard to take chances because most of the success of an ultra-runner depends on his back-up. I experienced it during BDM102 and TNF100. Running a 100 kms without it is a chaos in the making. No problem if it’s only a 42k, but a 100k is difficult, a mammoth task to reckon with.

I have now a second thought on whether or not I’ll join this race. But after I sought God’s guidance regarding this matter, I’ll go for it.

With this in mind, I’m now imagining the same scenario in BDM102 and at km 85 and I don’t have a back -up. That was so difficult. I was in the midst of deciding whether or not I’ll finish that race, not because my legs cannot do it any longer, but I don’t have supplies anymore.

The memory of that scene frightens me.

What if “if I’ll fail this time?”

Honestly, I don’t like to fail, but I can handle it. As a devoted Christian for so many years, I know where my strength comes from. I know that even if I DNF or so, I’ll survive. My family will still love me. Christ is still in his heaven. My world will not come to an end, regardless of my performance.

It’s the similar belief, though, that makes me determined to be a good steward of my body and mind I’ve been blessed with. If my belief merely made me accept failure and defeat, it would be a crutch-a weak, sad alibi. People who criticize Christians for being less competitive-and Christians who are less competitive-have missed the point of faith.

It’s my belief that lifts me up when I’ve failed. It’s my faith that reminds me of my true significance when the world has been laid at my feet because of my success finishing a race. To call myself a Christian and then to not strive to be the best I can be and do the most I can with what has been given me would be the height of hypocrisy. Being a Christian is no excuse for mediocrity or passive acceptance of defeat. If anything, Christianity demands a higher standard, even more devotion to the task.

If the rain will not stop, that will give me another problems…I need to change my shoes and socks every now and then and since I don’t have a back-up, I think that’s not possible.

I’m still optimistic that many miracles will happen along the way and some angels will be there again guiding me. But if that will not happen, my faith is still intact for I know whom I believe and I’m persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that day…

To all Botak 100 solo participants, and to some of my BDM102 and TNF100 classmates, see you at the starting lines this Saturday!

God be Praised!

The Lighter Side:

Premiere magazine chose these as the greatest lines from movies:

1. The Godfather: Part 2, (1974), “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer”, Michael Corleone (Al Pacino)

2. Star Wars , (1977), “Get this big walking carpet out of my way”, Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher)

3. The Empire Strikes Back, (1980), “Never tell me the odds”, Hans Solo (Harrison Ford)

4. Sudden Impact , (1983), “Go ahead. Make my day”, Inspector “Dirty” Harry Callahan (Clint Eastwood)

5. Top Gun, (1986), “Take me to bed or lose me forever”, Carol Bradshaw (Meg Ryan)

Exposing The Works Of Darkness:

“Now the Spirit speaks expressly, that in the last days some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of the devils.”- 1 Timothy 4:1

The occult boom prevalent today with the wildfire spread of astrology. It then extended all the way from Satanism and witchcraft to the edge of science. One American in five expresses belief in astrology. Adherents of other movements include: Transcendental meditation (4%), some sort of yoga (3%), mysticism (2%) and eastern Religions (1%).

shepherdsvoice_niv

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 06 2009
Wayne

Ronnie. Good luck this coming Saturday. God bless and we’ll talk with you soon. – Wayne

25 06 2009
kingofpots

ronnie, juz pray and blessings will come when you least expect them. good luck & hope to see you soon!

25 06 2009
Jonnifer

I and my crew can help out. Let me know if you need anything during the race. Just bring a phone and send SMS. The vehicle can always leapfrog or go back(depends if you’re ahead of or behind me). Better still, we can run side by side if that is even possible.

Good luck and see you at the Start line. Did you know our race coincide with the grand daddy of ultramarathons – Western States 100? Tough competition out there this weekend.

25 06 2009
kwarenta28

jonas and me will try to drop by the vicinity on Sunday just to see how things are. hope to see you there. otherwise, i wish you all the courage and perseverance.

Shiela and Jonas
2FORdaROAD

25 06 2009
cynthia

against all odds, classmate! i”ll pray for you to succeed on this one!

talk to you when i get back from vacation or sooner, haha!

to jonnifer~ thanks for helping out!

25 06 2009
Bong Ortiz

In our eyes you’re a winner already by just running this ultramarathon Ronnie. With your positive attitude and deep faith in Him we’re sure you’re going to do alright just like BDM 102. Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

