Lifting A Full-Sized Bull!

16 07 2009

The lawyer’s truth is not Truth, but consistencyHenry David Thoreau (American Essayist, Poet and Philosopher, 18171862)

Consistency


It’s nice to be back in blogging. I rested for two days, taking care of business and some other important things. I have to stop blogging for a while. This is important, for me to miss it…

Last April 2009, I celebrated my 3rd year as runner. I could still remember those days in 2006 where I joined my first ever fun run, a 5 kilometer race in Cabuyao Laguna. I wore a t-shirt made from cotton, a maong short pants and Vans casual shoes.

It was my gym buddy, Marlon who introduced running to me. We jogged for several days until I saw an advertisement of that race. It was only a 5k, but for me then, a scary task to accomplish.

After I finished a 5k, I dreamed of conquering a 10k next, then a 16k, a 21k, a 25k, and a 42k. To this day, I was able to join in 59 races..with 4 Marathons and 2.5 Ultramarathons. (Glory to God!)

What is my secret? It is doing an unpleasant task daily!

Pardon me, unpleasant task? Yes, You read it right-An unpleasant task! At first, I thought of running as an unpleasant task. As a beginner, running is difficult. You have to get out of your comfort zone, waking up early just to burn calories. It’s not enjoyable, it’s painful and ridiculous!

I believed that every person ought to do an unpleasant task every day just to keep us in physical trim. The physical muscles grow with exercise and use. If we want them to be strong, we must use them consistently.

It is like the youth in mythology who picked up the new born calf in the field. Every day he went out and lifted it in his arms. Since the calf’s weight increased only a little each day, the youth did not notice the increase. By continuing to lift the calf day after day, his strength grew with the calf’s weight so that he could still lift it after it had grown into full-sized bull.

And I’m glad to do those unpleasant tasks consistently. Unknown to me then, I too, can lift a full-sized bull now and still dreaming of carrying a dinosaur someday.

God be Praised!

joyfultoon.gif


Actions

Information

3 responses

16 07 2009
Bong Ortiz

Hi Ronnie. Nice post. The unpleasant task you mentioned is similar to “positive pain”, the pain and suffering that mountain climbers or even marathoners and ultra runners have to endure physically and mentally in training and/or the actual run or climb itself. Positive, because even when the muscles hurt and the mind is forced to think and solve problems, the end result is for the runner or climber to be physically fitter and mentally tougher than before he started the activity.

22 07 2009
CoachTief

An impressive first three years. I loved the poster too. Congrats on going from lifting a calf to a bull. The Dinosaur is next.

22 07 2009
runnerforchrist

Hi CoachTief…thank you for dropping-by. I would love to carry a “dinosaur” if it’s possible. Dream big, it’s free. Cheers and God bless.

Leave a Reply

