Beyond The Marathon:The Grandslam Of Trail Ultrarunning!

24 07 2009

“Argue for your limitations, and sure enough they’re yours. ” –Richard Bach

clear limitation

As a newbie runner then, my ultimate goal was to finish a marathon (42 kms). For me, accomplishing such enormous feat was indeed truly satisfying, regardless of PR. I trained so hard, and within 2 years, I have 3 full marathons tucked under my belt.

On my 3rd year, no longer satisfied with marathons, I tried Ultramarathon (102 kms) and I did that 2 times plus half of 100k Ultra trail running. And I finished again another marathon last July 5, 2009 making it 4.  Needless to say, I already achieved 200% of my New Year’s Resolution in running for 2009 as early at this stage.

Some skeptics are questioning what will happen to me in the future since my body specially my legs were overused already and they can’t believe I can accomplish such feat in short period of time….

April 5, 2009 -BDM 102 kms

May 23, 2009 -TNF 100 kms

June 28, 2009 -Botak 100 kms

July 5, 2009 -Milo 42 kms   (my 4th marathon)

I heard also some unkind remarks from these people who haven’t done a 42k yet in their running career such as, “Let’s see what will happen to him, he can never last as a runner…”

What a crab mentality!

With God’s help, I’ll show them that I will last and stay in running!

And even if, God forbid, that I’ll retire early for any unseen events, I would say that they cannot do what I have achieved (To God be the Glory!) and I’m happy and satisfied doing that, no regrets!

Well, we maybe fascinated by some of our accomplishments, but do you know that in the U.S.A, things like these are only ordinary thing? And they are not running for 102 or 100 kms? They’re running for 160 kms.

Let me tell you about this guy, elite Ultra-runner Robert Boeder…

In 1994, Robert Boeder completed the Grand Slam of trail ultrarunning finishing four 100 mile races in the space of 14 weeks.

“In his book, “Beyond Marathon: The Grand Slam of Trail Utra Ultrarunning” A well written, quick moving adventure tale which combines both the romance and the gritty realism of ultrarunning; filled with practical knowledge for anyone attempting a trail 100 and excellent for non-runners seeking a glimpse of the ultra world”. Here, he describes the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual challenges of completing the “Old Dominion 100 Miler”, the “Western States 100 Mile Endurance Run”, the “Leadville Trail 100”, and the “Wasatch Front 100 Mile Endurance Run” in a single summer.

Boeder continues to be an avid runner and race organizer. He has a PhD in history. After teaching for a number of years in universities in Africa and the United States, he now works for the Us Army at Ft. Bragg, North Carolina.

He also wrote a book, and I used that as my title for today.

Please visit this site to know more about this amazing guy-

-www.runtheplanet.com

It is my wish that you too, may experience the joy of running a 42k and after doing that, aim for longer distances such a 102 or a 100 kms someday.

Don’t just be satisfied with your label now as a ‘runner’, but be a ‘marathoner’ and eventually, an “Ultra-runner”!

But most specially…HAVE FUN!

God be Praised!

RUNNING TIPS: Want to feel a little looser during your race or workout? Try skipping fast for 100 yards or so as a warmup. It will get your blood flowing and make you feel good before you start.

LIFE IN A NUTSHELL: Daniel Webster was asked, “What is the greatest thought that can occupy a man’s mind?” He said, “His accountability to God.” -Abel Ahlquist, Light on the Gospels

deadweight_niv



Actions

Information

9 responses

24 07 2009
Jaranilla

Inggit lang sila. My officemate nga ako na first time tumakbo, 42K agad. Inggit nga yong iba naming officemate na matagal na tumatakbo kasi hindi nila kaya yong long run like 42k, next race nga niya ultra marathon and according to those na naiinggit sa kanya di pa niya kaya. Kasi first time lang niya tumakbo.

Keep on running and have fun.

24 07 2009
kingofpots

I say, “amen” to your post! i have that book, too!

24 07 2009
ronald

and it never stops! TNF100 ulit sa january!🙂

24 07 2009
orangejulius

amen to that sir!

what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger…

25 07 2009
runnerforchrist

Amen to that Julius…thanks for the visit.

26 07 2009
runnerforchrist

Ronald…lets vote for Baguio, babawi tau hahaha

26 07 2009
runnerforchrist

S’ Jovie…bka pde mahiram pagkatapos you read hahaha God bless.

26 07 2009
runnerforchrist

Hello Jun…thanks for the visit. Ang ganda ng training you nowadays, naunahan you pa me sa Botak100 ha? Congrats!
See you in Milo Baguio or Subic 42k… God bless.

26 07 2009
gingerbreadrunning

Very nice Sir Ronnie. There will always be crabs wherever we go, it’s always our intrinsic belief in ourselves that would see us through. You are a highly respected “ultraman” in the community, and an inspiration to those who are just starting out. Keep it up Sir and God bless!

Cheers,
Luis

Leave a Reply

