Running Still, Running Strong!

28 07 2009

“Today is mine to conquer…” -runnerforchrist

holy-prayer

Waking up at 4am this morning, was indeed a great blessing already. For I’m alive and well, ready to conquer another day full of many challenges. As I opened my eyes, I lifted both of my hands and I said ‘words of thanksgiving’ to my Maker. After that, I turned on the lamp shade on top of me, as I opened my Bible, ready for meditation. The One Year Bible stated that I must open Second Chronicles 21:1-23:21; Romans 11:13-36; Psalms 22:1-18 and Proverbs 20:7. I read it outloud just enough for me to hear it again so that its messages can still linger on my mind for a long time, as my tradition in reading the Scripture. After that, I bowed down my knees beside my bed, and I prayed deep within my heart. That lasted for 30 minutes.

After a quick shower, I took 2 pieces of wheat pandesal from Pan de Manila and a cup of Sencha Japanese green tea, while preparing for my today’s run. I wore my New Balance running short,  New Balance Power race Singlet, New Balance 800 shoes, Timex HRM, Spyder Sunglasses and my Northface cap. As I’m about to leave the house, I opened the fridge to get a small bottle of Pocari Sweat. The time on my watch was 4:50am.

Unlike in my previous workouts, I have no gameplan for today’s run. No specific route and time. I’ll just stop if there’s pain or tired already.

As I lifted my hands on the sky once more, I committed my life to God in complete surrender, for I don’t know what will happen to me during this practice.

After a 5 minute easy run, I paused for a while as I did my stretching.

The time now was 5:01 am. While majority of people were still sleeping, I’m here already at the roadside, ready to rumble! I’m so blessed to have this life, no vices, I slept  early so that I could start the day, early too!

My strides at first were easy and I’m at my comfortable pace, as i increased it, I saw that the  HRM reading was at the 150 bpm. I haven’t done this for a long, long time. I wanted to run like an animal before, but my body was still accustomed to that Ultramarathon training, making me slower, with legs still occasionally in pain.

‘But today, will be different’, I said to myself. I further increased the tempo and  ran as fast as I could, until reaching a 192 bpm. That remain for 3 to 5 minutes.

I’m sweating it out, Ohh wow! What a wonderful feeling! I do have a hard time breathing, but I don’t want to stop it.

At this position, I recalled the many ups and downs of my life, those victories and defeats and how I became an Ultra-runner. Not in my wildest dreams, but here am I now, running like crazy, running like an animal, running still-and running strong.

Some 4 years ago, as I drove somewhere in Manila, I’m caught in heavy traffic because there was this race going on, and runners were occupying half of the lane. I’m so mad and I yelled in one of them, saying, “All of you were Crazy!”

Now, I belonged to that ‘crazy group!’ Ohhh the cycle of life…

My feet brought me in San Lazaro Leisure Park in Carmona Cavite and as I turned around, I took a pebble as a memorabilia. This day was different, I told to myself.

As I returned home, I dropped by in a Mini Stop, and treated myself with a Hersheys Chocolate Ice Cream in cone. I deserved one today for a very nice work out running  in 1 hour and 48 minutes.

I’m so thankful for God’s protection today, and so happy for my little accomplishment.

And a chocolate ice cream was there as my reward.

God be Praised!

LIFE IN A NUTSHELL: The good life exists only when we stop wanting a better one. The itch for things is a virus draining the soul of contentment. -Charles Swindoll

gardener_niv


Actions

Information

11 responses

28 07 2009
mannyhines

S’ Ronnie, Im blessed with your life. Keep inspiring me and my co-workers. I am recommending your blogs here at the office.

God is with you!

28 07 2009
wendy samaniego

You don’t know how you touched my life Mr. Ronnie. By just reading your blogs, I understand the importance of running and knowing Jesus as my Lord.
I’m not that so religious, but through your blogs, I think, I need to be one.

Please, post some more…

28 07 2009
ariel the astroboy

what an experience! I’m glad to know you runnerforchrist, a different kind of blog.

God be with you always.

28 07 2009
ariel the astroboy

what an experience! I’m glad to know you runnerforchrist, a different kind of blog.

God be with you always.
BTW I love your blog!

28 07 2009
kingofpots

ronnie, keep on running because we are all born as natural runners! nice post & keep on writing. good luck & hope to see you soon!

28 07 2009
Bong Ortiz

That sure was quite an enjoyable run for you Ronnie. Must be nice to run that early in the morning when it’s still cool and experience the sun just coming out at the break of dawn. Something to savor and be thankful for.

29 07 2009
thesolemates

Hi Ronnie, truly the best way to start our day … with the Lord. Then, run on to face life’s realities with renewed strength and hope. God bless and keep running!

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

You’re most welcome…mannyhines. Thank you.

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

Nice to hear that wendy samaniego…thanks for the visit.

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

All for the Lord’s glory, ariel the astroboy. God bless.

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

Hi S’ Jovie…we will keep running for life! God bless.

Leave a Reply

