What A Nightmare!: A 160K Ultramarathon?

2 08 2009

To those who asked me “Why?” I would frequently offer up some shallow explanation like “I enjoy running.” What I guess I should have said was, “Go out and run 160 kms, then you’ll have your answer.” -Ultra-runner Dean Karnazes

ultra running

Have you seen the movie APOCALYPTO? The synopsis of this movie which was shown in 2006 and oftentimes in the cable, (I have seen it again last night) is all about a Mayan civilization, a peaceful tribe which was brutally attacked by warriors seeking slaves and human beings for sacrifice for their gods. Jaguar Paw hid his pregnant wife and his son in a deep hole nearby their tribe and was captured while fighting with his people. An eclipse spared his life from the sacrifice and later he had to fight to survive and save his beloved family.

But the night before those warriors subdued Jaguar Paw and his small group, Jaguar Paw had a bad dream. In his dream, he saw one of his co-villagers, bloodied, and on his hands was his heart. You can see on his face that he was so terrified and in pain. As he opened his mouth, he told Jaguar Paw this word, “RUN!”

As I woke up this morning, I too have a terrible nightmare! I saw the same villager just what I have seen in that movie, but he’s not holding his heart. Only this time, he was holding a coupon bond, with the inscription, “160 kms”. And he told me, “RUN!”

Luckily enough, my watch alarmed at 3:30am because we have a long run set at 4:45 am today. If not for that watch, I don’t know what will happen to me. As I laid on my bed, I thought what does it mean?

Maybe I’m tired last night…

Maybe my prayer was ‘not that fervent’ as before…(that’s why I had a bad dream)

Maybe I was so engrossed watching that specific scene…

Or maybe, I’ll run a 160 kms. someday???

Ohhh no! I think I’m not yet ready. But if God will give me a chance, I’ll do it. And that is no longer a nightmare, but a dream.

God be praised!

LIVING INSIGHT: Bob Zuppke, a famous football coach, once asked the question, “What makes a man fight?” He answered his own question by saying, “Two forces are at war in every fighter, the ego and a goal. An overdose of self-love, coddling of the ego, makes bums of men who ought to be champions. Forgetfulness of self, complete absorption in the goal, often makes champions out of bums.” -charles allen

THE LIGHTER SIDE: There are 3 things that are real- God, human folly and laughter. Since the first two are beyond our comprehension, we must do what we can with the third. This is a philosophy I live by. -jerry Lewis

MY PRAYER FOR TODAY: LORD, When I am wrong, make me easy to change… And when I am right, make me easy to live with.

beltoftruth_niv


But before


Actions

Information

4 responses

2 08 2009
Yayın Akışı

“When I am wrong, make me easy to change… And when I am right, make me easy to live with.”
It’s very very good sentence. I will make it screensaver

3 08 2009
kingofpots

ronnie, don’t worry there will come a time when a 100-miler race (160K) will be held here. i know that you will be one of the few first participants in this race. i really appreciate your positive attitude and tenacity.

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

Hi yayinakisi…that prayer is wonderful….I’m glad you did it. God bless.

3 08 2009
runnerforchrist

S’ Jovie…I’ll train better and harder, that’s for sure….

Leave a Reply

