In The Brink Of Danger!

19 08 2009

“Believe me! The secret of reaping the greatest fruitfulness and the greatest enjoyment from life is to live dangerously!” –

Friedrich Nietzsche

Before going out to my work, appointments and work-out, it’s my tradition to always dedicate it to God and kiss my love ones- for I don’t know if I could ever return to them again, still alive and kicking.

Every moments, we are surrounded by dangers, especially while we are running, biking or any sports activities we’re engage in.

The oldest runner died instantly when he was ‘hit and run’ by a vehicle very early one morning; my townmate also died of a heart attack while competing in one race; another friend of mine suffered  broken ribs and thighs when his bike went wayward in the downhill part of Carmona-GMA Cavite zigzag road, that caused his early retirement for this sports.

Countless of stories can be recalled-only to remind us that athletes like us are always in the brim of dangers…those strayed dogs, hold-up men, careless motorists, major injuries, stroke or heart attack, dehydration and the likes are our foes, and you’ll never know when they will come.

Just like today, when biking in Splash Island in Binan Laguna, a van so fast I almost got side-swept. Whew! Sometimes, our safety depends in the mercy of other people, no matter how careful and defensive  we are. What If the driver of that van showed no  mercy to me earlier?

190820091718

Splash Island.

190820091719

190820091720

190820091722

190820091723

190820091724

190820091725

My biking work-out for today was 1 hour and 30 minutes, with only one 3 minutes break.

Remember: Whether  in biking, running or in anything -be vigilant, stay alert, bring a name tag or identification ID with complete details, inform your love ones about your route and as much as possible, have someone with you. Above all- PRAY!

GOD BE PRAISED!

LIFE IN A NUTSHELL: Emil Mettler, a restaurant owner in London, was known for his generosity. He often fed people for nothing. One day Emil opened his cash drawer in the presence of a missionary official who noticed a nail among the bills and coins. Surprised at what he saw, the man asked, “What’s that doing there?” Emil picked up the 6 inch spike and replied, “I keep this with my money to remind me of the price Christ paid for my salvation and what I owe him in return.”

CHRIST GAVE HIMSELF FOR US THAT WE MIGHT GIVE OURSELVES FOR OTHERS.

godsprescription_niv

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 08 2009
rick gaston

I think you face more dangers there than we do here in the US. For starters the traffic is a little bit more predictable.

26 08 2009
runnerforchrist

You’re right Rick, only in the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

