Responsible Organizer!

17 09 2009

To be a man is, precisely, to be responsible.” –Antoine de Saint-Exupery  (French Pilot, Writer and Author of ‘The Little Prince’, 19001944)

Last Sept.10, 2009..I posted a fiasco regarding the shady distribution of loot bag for the Milo 21k in San Pablo City. Majority of the runners didn’t receive theirs; I have mine but it was ransacked (for there was no Gatorade, banana and biscuit) Although I’m not after any freebies, it’s good that I voiced out that deviation so that the Organizer, can act and do some preventive measures in the future.

Last week, I received a reply from them, and here was the message as relayed to me by Mam Thelma Biscocho thru sms coming from Mr. Andrew Neri, Milo Sports Events Executive…”the Nestle supervisors in San Pablo were sternly warned that the incident should not be repeated and we had investigated the issue and the person has been reprimanded…”

Thank you Milo Organizer for a quick and prompt action regarding this matter. Unlike in the past races of some Organizers out there, my concern was acted upon immediately. 

But how can you distinguish a responsible organizer from a bad one? Here are some good tips:

-not defensive. He will accept his faults or shortcomings.

-transparent. Only one organizer showed the financial status of his race (Master’s Run) and I think no one can do the same thing. 

-quick and prompt action. I think no need to elaborate this.

-willing to adjust the error systematically. In the Coffee Run in Amadeo Cavite, the Organizer changed the race result after I showed them my proof through this blog.

I ran a 1 hour and 30 minutes today, wearing the Subic International Marathon, as my way of promoting this event.

160920091896

God be Praised!

kangaroo_niv

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2009
kingofpots

it’s sad that nobody took my challenge. i also thought of posting financial status after the 1st BDM102 but it is sad to say that i encountered some financial losses but in the end i gained good friends and created a good race to commemorate a part in the history of the country & the entire world. with the help of runners like you, i will sustain the holding of BDM102 annually. who knows, i’ll extend the race up to capas to make it a 100-miler road race. nice post!

18 09 2009
reinier6666

I hope you do not mind I forwarded a link via email to Mr. Andrew Neri regarding you blog.

Leave a Reply

