If You Don’t Call That A Miracle!(SIM 42k Recap 4)

28 10 2009

Pray, and let God worry

Martin Luther (German Priest and Scholar whose questioning of certain church practices led to the Protestant Reformation. 14831546)

 

sim1

me, wearing bib no. 777 with team HARDCORE.

“Pastor Ed, please pray for me! I’m in the middle of a 42k race here in Subic, with no light, water and food. Worst was, I’m injured and I can’t run…” This was my phone call at around 8:30pm to my ‘father in faith’, Pastor Eddie Hernandez as I approached km 28 of that race. He lived in Maddela, Cagayan Valley but we have a regular communications.

“Okay, I’ll pray for you now. Don’t worry, leave all your worries to God. He will help you finish that race”, was his reply.

After that brief conversations, I became calm, relaxed and confident that I could finish that race.

I have no plan of calling him, because I can pray too. But when I sensed something wrong about this race, I needed more people and back-up to pray for me and to the rest of all runners.

Let me share with you a true story…

During World War II, a bomber pilot was flying on a mission when his plane was hit by anti-aircraft fire, causing it to spin out of control toward the ocean below. He later said,”I began to pray, but that was the last I knew until I came to in the water. I was in bad shape. My leg was gone below the knee and I knew that I would bleed to death in few minutes. Then something nudged me. It was apiece of plywood with the plane’s first aid kit on it. I got the torniquet out of it, and my co-pilot helped  me  to get the thing on and stop the bleeding. Another plane came along  and dropped a life raft, and 4 hours later we we’re picked up by a rescue boat. I f  you don’t call that a miracle, I would like to know what it is. God answered my prayer.

 

Unknown to that pilot, his parents were praying for him at exactly the same time that accident happened.

After few minutes of that brief conversation with Pastor Ed,  a van  from Subic went our way, loaded with water. And at km 36,  a light snack (power bar) was served. And my legs, though in  pain were able to gain some speed and momentum -and the rest was history!

Let me repeat those words of that brave pilot…

If you don’t call that a miracle, I would like to know what it is. God answered my prayer!

Don’t pray for lighter burdens, but for stronger backs.

Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men! Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for power equal to your tasks.” -Phillip Brooks

Ah, prayer -what a wonder you are! I’m a living proof that God is Alive, and He answers prayers.

“Call to Me and I will answer you and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.” -Jeremiah 33:3

God be Praised!

Did you know…

… that today is Good Bear Day? This day honors Theodore
Roosevelt (born on this day in 1858), 26th president of the
United States. Teddy bears were named after him. Quick bit of
trivia: Teddy Bear collecting is called arctophily. The word
arctophily is a combination of two Greek words that mean
“bear” and “love.”


Actions

Information

2 responses

29 10 2009
wmtan00

your perseverance to finish even in the face of adversities – injuries, terrible organizers – is an inspiration to many runners, sir ronnie. may you keep on running and blogging!

29 10 2009
Alan

No doubt our dear Lord carried you through sir Ronnie. Nothing is impossible with God! He alone deserve all the praises and glory.

God bless you always!

Leave a Reply

