The Breaking Point…

22 11 2009

Everything has its limit – iron ore cannot be educated into gold Mark Twain

Hardcore’s TKO 250 kms. will finally be over this coming Sunday at New Balance half-marathon but humbly I would say that I have deficiencies in terms of mileage. I only ran a 25 kms at Milo Finals and  did not join  in Adidas KOTR and Halimaw Run. Sorry to say that during those races, I have found my load limit.

We’ve all seen load-limit signs on highways, bridges and elevators too. Knowing that too much strain can cause severe damage or complete collapse, engineers determine the exact amount of stress that various materials can safely endure. Posted warnings tell us not to exceed the maximum load.

Human beings also have their load limits, which vary from person to person. Some people, for example, can bear the pressure of trial and temptation better than others; yet everyone has a breaking point and can take only so much.

As I evaluated  my running performance this year, after Nb 21,  I think I needed to take a break and give my legs a well deserved rest. Sometimes, I think I’m so cruel on my legs…torturing it almost reaching its ‘breaking point.’

Nowadays, Ultra-running and back to back marathons are so popular and I’m glad that I was able to finish those races  but for those who would like to join (newbie in Ultra-running or back to back marathons), I have a simple advise: THINK MANY TIMES BEFORE JOINING. Don’t participate just because it’s only ‘IN’ and for peer pressure. Know your breaking point and plan strategically. Be physically and mentally fit. Above all, seek help from Above, without His grace, we can do nothing. And please, don’t exceed your maximum load.

See you at Nb 21 this coming Sunday.

God be Praised!

 

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

23 11 2009
kingofpots

well said..it takes years to become an ultrarunner…i mean, a “smart” & consistent ultrarunner. welcome to PAU!

23 11 2009
thesolemates

Hi Ronnie, what a coincidence reading your post when i just asked Jun a week ago how is it possible that some people can do back-to-back marathons when it is not supposedly advisable to do so. I truly cannot imagine doing that. Those of you who do are really in a class all your own.

Anyway, congrats for having achieved what you have achieved so far. Time for some rest. You deserve it. I’m sure you’ll be back for more in due time… all in His time. -Mariel

Leave a Reply

