An Almost ‘Perfect’ Race!(New Balance 21k Recap)

30 11 2009

“I over train!  So, I can over eat!!” -Sayings written in t-shirts

The New Balance Power Run yesterday  was indeed one of the most auspicious running events I have ever  joined this year.

I can’t recall any shortcomings or deviations during the entire race.

From its marshals, water stations, route, freebies, medal, giveaways- they’re almost perfect!

The distribution of those freebies at the finish line was exemplary and all  stations have enough water to supply the needs of all runners.

The route was also unique and my first time to run that course even though I’ve been to the ‘Fort’ for so many times during recent races.

Although I’m not satisfied with my performance, with a time of 2 hours and 7 minutes unofficial, I’m still very grateful to the Lord Almighty for allowing me again to finish a half-marathon, uninjured and plenty to spare. If not for the activities I’ve made a day before that race, maybe I could improve my time. Last Saturday, I biked 1 hour and 30 minutes, then I did my ‘heat training’ from 9am until 11am and attended a debut party Saturday night, and I was there until 12 midnight, with only 2 hours of sleep before the race. Well, I’m not sharing this to justify my not so good time but things like these must be avoided to be able to achieve a better execution next time.

To the Organizer of  the New Balance Power Run, Congratulations! You did it again just like the Power Race held in Clark two  years ago.

Rest assured that I and the rest of my running buddies here in Laguna will continually support your ‘races’ in the years to come.

And to my team mates in the TEAM HARDCORE who finished the “Takbo  Kay Ondoy” (TKO) 250k run,  a fund raising project for the victims of super typhoon Ondoy, you have my respect and utmost adoration. We’re not only Ultra-runners, but also ‘real’ hardcores when it comes to running.

 

Me before the race, 5am, assembly time.

after the race, 2 hours and 7 minutes later.

Ferdie Valdez

My buddies from Laguna: Vic, Bert, Mon, Me and Ferdie.

with Team Hardcore

See you this coming Saturday and Sunday in ‘Conquer Coregidor’ 16k trail run.

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

3 responses

1 12 2009
6 12 2009
Coach Salazar

ganda ng pics pastor.

26 12 2009
joy de gorostiza

GOD be the glory…. God bless and thank you for bringing God with you…till we meet again!

Leave a Reply

