Celebrity Run Recap!

23 12 2009

“I run with my head, my heart and my guts, because physically, I don’t think I’ve got a great deal of talent or ability. I started at the bottom and worked up.” -Steve Jones, former Marathon World record holder

The Philippine Star’s Celebrity Run was indeed a success, thanks again for a job well done by Ian Alacar, my BDM classmate, who was the Race Organizer for this event. I have an awesome experience and although my time was not that too impressive, 2 hours and 24 minutes, way off mark to my best PR for 21K (set last March 9, 2008-AFP/DND VILLAMOR AIRBASE Race-21 kms,  1 hour and 50 minutes-that was when Ultra-running was a foreign word to me : )) I’m still satisfied, for a week before this race, I’m still undecided to join this event, for I’m battling with   series of injuries. At the last minute, I decided to join, just for fun. At first, my plan was to just participate the 3K event but realizing I will not enjoy a very short distance like that, I sought Ian Alacar’s help so that I could join the 21K instead of 3K.

So, from Race bib number 0615 for a 3K, I’ve got a new number 4433, and this time, I have the luxury again of running a half-marathon.

Aside for my very nice race bib number, I also commend the Organizer for a unique feature at the back of the bib –the route of the race, first time to see such a thing.  I haven’t seen a kind like that  from any of my previous races.

Also, it was my first time  to run the route of Sen Gil Puyat going to Ayala Avenue and then to Makati Avenue.

The weather was just perfect and I loved the drizzle plus the rainbow.

The route was also perfect, and although it was more than 21K (22.5K maybe), it was better than less than 21K.

Some water stations have no cups and some have no more water, but it was the best time to test anybody’s endurance.

I have difficulty running uphill and at times, I walked for pain was unbearable.

Ohh, I missed those days where I can run the 21K with decent time…

3/9/08-AFP/DND VILLAMOR AIRBASE-21 kms 1hour 50mins

3/22/09-CONDURA SKYWAY RUN-21KMS-222 OVERALL-1hour  54mins

2/15/09-MILO BATANGAS CITY-21 KMS-1hour 55mins

2/3/08 MILO BATANGAS CITY -21 kms-1hour 56 mins

But I don’t care whether or not Ultra-running made me a slower runner. I’ve been to a sub2 performances wayback before, nothing to prove.

Again, congrats to all the finishers of Celebrity Run last Sunday. Never mind if you don’t beat your PR as long as you finished the race safe and  uninjured. It’s not only the  speed that counts but the way how you ENJOYED and ENDURED it to the max.

After I finished two and a half Ultramarathons, five Marathons and eight half-Marathons this year alone, I’m really satisfied even with a 2 hours and 24 minutes performance last Sunday. I could not ask for more.

And there’s still another 32K this coming Dec. 30, 2009- the Rizal’s Day Run at the Phil. Army headquarter in Quezon City.

See you there folks, rain or no rain.

God be Praised!

Did you know…

… that today is the birthday of the Crossword Puzzle? The
first crossword puzzle (with 32 clues) was created by Arthur
Wynne and published in the “New York World” on this date in
1913. He first named his new creation a word-cross, but
changed the name to cross-word a few weeks later.


Actions

Information

5 responses

23 12 2009
herbal treatment

This blog take nice content on his nice template.

23 12 2009
Alfred

Nice to finally meet you Ronnie!
Congratulations on a very successful year. I hope I myself will be able to do ultras next year.
I’ve added you to my blogroll if you don’t mind.
See you at the Rizal Day Run!

23 12 2009
kingofpots

ronnie, it’s camp aguinaldo, GHQ Headquarters. good jod on your 2009 running career. see you on the rizal day run!

26 12 2009
runnerforchrist

S’ Jovie…thanks for the correction and for the favor I asked from you. See you at your race. God bless.

26 12 2009
runnerforchrist

Alfred…it was I that must say that. Glad to meet you and yes, from now on,you’ll be at my blogroll too. God bless.

Leave a Reply

