Running With A Heavy Heart!

5 01 2010

“Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the
same box.”

— Anonymous

For the first time in my running career, I was so burdened with what I saw this morning while running and a little bit depressed after that. It was not a pleasant sight to behold as I ran at exactly 5:15 am.

While it was  still dark and  with a  limited lighting system in my  training ground, I saw a silhouette of a person  from a distance lying on the ground. At first, I perceived him to be a beggar, a vagabond, or a drunkard maybe. As I came nearer, I saw that it was a man’s body, but to my amazement-his hands were tied with a cord, facing the ground, and with some liquid spattered near his head, probably a blood but I’m not sure because the area was too dark.

This guy was not sleeping, but  he maybe a murder victim!

The way I saw it, he was  no longer moving or there was  a  presence of a sign of life.

I ran awkwardly to the direction of a Security Guard on duty, and reported that gory scene  to him, so that he can contact the  nearby police station through his 2 way radio.

I still ran after that but I don’t go too far. I can’t forget that scene, it was  a nightmare and I don’t want to see similar scenario again while running if possible. It can break your heart.

Later, I saw policemen coming- and yes, that man was killed.

I still ran at a very comfortable pace -thinking about the brevity of life. I am still so blessed to have this life inspite of many challenges and trials.

So, what is the moral lesson of my story today?

Live life to the fullest. Build bridges rather than walls. Create no enemies if possible. Be a friend to all if possible. Love your neighbor as yourself. Don’t provoke anybody. Avoid petty quarrels…

Above all, remember  always that today maybe  your LAST day on earth, so be good and do those things that are pleasing on HIS sight. If you’re still alive tomorrow, then you are so blessed. Treasure life… for life, even the hardest life, is the most beautiful and wonderful gift God has given.

I ran 3 hours and 2 minutes this morning, just good enough for 25 kms and 2,568 calories.

Run even with a heavy heart!

God be Praised!

Did you know…

that today is Women Rock! Day? In 1987, Aretha Franklin
became the first woman to be inducted into the Rock & Roll
Hall of Fame. She is known as Lady Soul or Queen of Soul.

See you at the road.

Thank you SPYDER for my sunglasses  this morning…


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 01 2010
revnardintheplace

How are you doing, I made an instrumental/ interpretation of Aretha Franklin’s “Until you come back to me” and I’d like you to listen and let me know what you think

5 01 2010
Natz

Hi Ronnie, thanks for sharing this. Now I really do realize how precious and fragile life is.

Leave a Reply

