Wanted: More Hearts With Compassion!

18 02 2010

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.” -Dalai Lama

I went to the ‘Chosen Children Village Foundation’ this morning by means of biking with my cycling  mentor and the President of TEAM TURBO, Joe Asuncion.  We were  supposed to be more than ten but at the last minute, some of my biking buddies backed off due to some unavoidable reasons. The address on their website is km 48, General Emilo Aguinaldo Highway, Lalaan 2 Silang Cavite.

We reached this km 48 post in 1 hour and 35 minutes, all the way from San Pedro Laguna.

Joe Asuncion, a Triathlete veteran with  many honors and awards under his name.

I conquered this place with a total time of 2 hours and 45 minutes (back and forth), 51.6 kms distance, average speed of 18.6 kms per hour with a maximum speed of 39.6 kms per hour. Also, I burned 710 calories for this biking activity.

The actual location is not at that km 48 marking but some 800 meters more going to Tagaytay, you can see this signage.

At the outpost, you can see this…

As we approached  that village, the security guard greeted us and he  was so courteous. I introduced myself to him and I told him I have an appointment with Mam Noreen because last night, I emailed her regarding my intention to visit this place.

As we entered her office, I noticed that my name was written on the ‘white board’ of the CCVF calendar. I met Mam Noreen and she toured us to one of the most ‘endearing’ places I have ever visited…

I also noticed a popular actress who donated a building for this foundation. With that, I salute you Mam.

Hats-off to you Mega Star!

I’m not allowed to take pictures of those children to protect their identities but all of them are special in a way that they are ‘physically and mentally’ challenged. You can see it with this notice…

After getting a permission, I was allowed to take this because you can’t see their faces. The one sitting has a Cerebral Palsy and the one standing has a Dawn Syndrome and majority of them are blinds. When I saw this, I cried silently.

Me too have galore of problems but the moment I saw them, I was strengthened and  energized and I vow to help them. My 250 kms run is for them!

Those children touched my heart and I will not allow any selfishness and hypocrisy  ruin my 250 kms HOLY RUN on HOLY WEEK from Monumento Caloocan City to Baguio City on March 30 to April 2, 2010.

Thank you Bro for being with me as I visited this ‘heavenly place’ for those special children.

Before, I run and bike just to conquer places. Now, I want to do it for a worthy cause!

After almost 2 hours of orientation, we left that village at 10:45 am. As I took my bike, I said to myself that, “LIFE, EVEN THE HARDEST LIFE, IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL AND WONDERFUL GIFT GOD HAS GIVEN.”

Thank you Mam Noreen Avetria, for a very nice accommodation. As promised, I did not post your picture here.🙂

To all who would like to be a part of my RUN FOR A CAUSE for those ‘CHOSEN CHILDREN’, this blogsite will be happy to hear from you.

Run for a cause. It may not be a popular choice but in God’s eyes, you’re the real winner!

Remember,  You can give without loving but you cannot love without giving.

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 02 2010
jhuvy10

Goodluck Sir on this RUN FOR A CAUSE, im not a runner in the real sense on it but I really admire people who are very enthusiast on this sports and also with their passion, and Im dreaming to be one of them too. Enjoying and helping people in need. You have a BIG heart that I know God will be your guide on you way up to the 250Kms. Im happy also that you will be pass in my hometown🙂. Hope I can share and help you in my own little way. I will follow your journey. God speed..

http://d-loner-runner.blogspot.com/

18 02 2010
runnerforchrist

Jhuvy10…Thank you and hoping to see you during my 4 days journey and any help, big and small,will be highly appreciated. God bless you🙂

19 02 2010
jhuvy

I will try my best to meet you on your journey, as I was reading the 250K run of Sir BR, he pass Malolos on his first day, so I will wait for you on March 30, so at least to offer you some refreshment (since i don’t think I can run with you,hehe🙂 ), and to give my gifts for the children🙂. My calendar already mark on that day.I’m also excited to your journey. See you soon Sir. Godbless! ^_^

(i will txt you Sir so I will know your exact location since my home is far from the highway, got you number in your previous post, hehe )

19 02 2010
runnerforchrist

Jhuvy, the intention alone to see me during that HOLY RUN is a big morale booster and yes, your offer is highly appreciated. Even a glass of water done for HIS service will not go in vain. I pray that my God will reward you for this, for I will run without any vehicular support. I will sleep, eat and rest on any safe places and I’ll be praying for my safety. Again thank you. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

