My First Ever Triathlon Tomorrow Is For Those ‘Chosen Children!’

19 02 2010

“How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving, and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because some day in life you will have been all of these.” -George Washington Carver

I will try to join my first ever Triathlon tomorrow, February 20, 2010 here in San Pedro Laguna dubbed as ‘First Sampaguita Sprint Triathlon.’ It comprises of 750 meters swim, 20 kms bike and 5 kms run. Entry fee is P200 only,  organized by SPTUSA (San Pedro Team Unified Sports Association) and Sponsored by Mayor Calixto Cataquiz and Vice Mayor Celso Ambayec.

Prizes are P3,000 for the first placer, P2,000 for the 2nd placer and P1,000 for the third, both for male and female. There will also be age category in each group.

There’s also a nice commemorative singlet for those finishers.

And what a nice exposure for those who will join the Camsur’s ‘Ironman’ this coming August 2010.

Now, I don’t know how to swim  for my swimming lesson hasn’t started yet so  what’s the purpose of my joining?

If  I could finish this event, I’ll donate a certain amount for the benefit of those ‘Chosen Children.’ The challenge for me is on the swimming competition where  I have no basic training. All I knew is a little bit ‘dog swim’ style but it is a 750 meters distance and I don’t know if I could sustain using my style for the entire duration of the swimming competition. That’s the challenge. If I could not finish it, then I have nothing to give for those ‘Chosen Children.’ But since, I really wanted to help, I’ll finish it even if  I’m the last ‘triathlete’ to reach the finish line.

And on Sunday, we will try to reach Magallanes Cavite by means of biking, the twilight zone of that Province, farther than Ternate Cavite.

I will continue exploring places and reach those uncharted territories.

Remember, a good heart is better than all the heads and skills  in the world.

In one of our biking adventures somewhere in Quezon Province, a more or less 100  kms away from my residence with my SPYDER eyewear.

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

