2nd Bataan Death March 102K Ultramarathon Recap Part 1

8 03 2010

“A man of pleasure is a man of pains.” -Edward Young

March 6, 2010 at 5am…we went to Mariveles Bataan to join the 2nd BDM 102K

Beth, Jerry, Beth, Mon and Romy in M’c Donalds NLEX.

Actually, Romy and I hitched only with Mon’s support group. I’m so thankful that  Mon allowed  us to ride with them.

We reached km 0 in Mariveles at 12 noon.

Romy ‘the Kenyan from Binan’ Irevera

In this race, I’m crucifying myself. For this is tough. Mind setting is important not only physical training. During last year’s BDM, I have also a picture in the same position…

We stayed here courtesy of my dear friend Jonel Mendoza. Thank you bro🙂

Photo ops with a runner…

On the opposite side of MC Lodge, you can see this BDM landmark.

Embracing the pain later…

On my next post, I will share my pains, sufferings and  injuries as well as my triumph and victory.

I’ll rest for now, more pictures to follow.

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

13 responses

8 03 2010
jonnifer

Congratulations on your another ultra finish. Recover well. Joining TNF?

8 03 2010
runnerforchrist

congrats too atty for being the 3rd placer over all. I’m still pondering if I’ll join TNF…that depends if I’m still 100% okay after my 4 days run from Luneta to Baguio City on March 30-April 2, 2010.
God bless.

8 03 2010
sundaywarrior

Hi Ronnie congrats! I had a blast despite the searing heat..

8 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Chito congrats too…what is your time?

8 03 2010
i_share runner

Hi Ron, congratulations🙂. Witnessed the event and had a time seeing the race route.

8 03 2010
run unltd.

Congrats Ronnie, that was an awesome performance. Thanks for dropping by my rest station.

8 03 2010
Bong Ortiz

Congrats Ronnie! That was one tough race to conquer. I heard the temperature went as high as 41 degrees Celsius.

8 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Jerry…the support you have given me was really awesome.Thank you so much🙂

8 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Vener…I admired your courage despite your injury.Congrats!

8 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Bong…it’s like running in the furnace at medium flame.You must survive in order to live🙂

8 03 2010
kenleyjones

Congratulations on the finish! Every step was with the power of God. Being a Runner is Having God in your Heart, for with out Him, You would not be able to Run, or Exist, for God Created all of us. Run with a Purpose! Those pictures are making me very exited to visit next year. I can not wait. My wife’s family lives not even a block away from the Jollibee. I am wanting to give support next year, if maybe, not to give it a try, though it will take a lot of training. If I do not run, I would love to be able to support in any way. May God continue to bless you and may you continue to lift him up through your blog. I recently wrote a post on my blog on Focused Intensity. Check it out when you get a chance. God Bless and enjoy your rest. You deserve every second of it.

9 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Kenley…I advise you to train hard or harder because ultra-running is not enjoyable and besides, you must be invited to join the race. Thanks for all those kind words and hoping to see you sometime. God bless bro.

9 03 2010
Luis Arcangel

Congratulations on finishing and getting that sub-17 Sir Ronnie, and it was nice running with you for a good part of it. Too bad my ITB gave way at Km 70, couldnt catch up anymore. You did awesome, thanks for the fun conversation also🙂

Leave a Reply

