2nd BDM 102K Ultramarathon Recap Part 2

8 03 2010

“Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If  I quit, however, it lasts forever.” -Lance Armstrong

March 6, 2010

Km 0 Mariveles Bataan

11 pm

with team Hardcore

with friends and co-Ultrarunners.

with Caloy and July

with Caloy.

Running with Caloy in the early part of the race at around 12:30am…

The race started at 11:30 pm…at this time it was almost 6am. It means I’m already running in more than 6 hours when this picture was taken.

Doing some stretching while running, my hands are tired.

Approaching km 50…still strong, no signs of any injuries or ‘elements’ issue.

The only Aid Station…at km 50 in Abucay Bataan.

I changed my singlet to this…for the sun was already peeking at around 7am. I reached km 50 in 7 hours and 11 minutes. Not bad…:)

Here at km 50, I told Mon if he wanted to keep his pace with me up to the finish line knowing he’s also a strong runner but a newbie in ultra-running. He agreed, but in the middle of km 50-km 51 mark, as I only walked because my stomach was still full from the foods at km 50, Mon ran and so I was left behind. If  Mon stayed with me, he could also made it in a sub 17 PR!

We only needed to run 52 kms more and this race will be over…

Here in 80 kms mark and I’m unaware, my friend Shiela Compendio took this picture in Lubao Pampanga, where the sun was at the hottest, a searing 41 degrees. And because my support group was not around for the last 32K of this race, with no more foods and drinks, I’m tired and hungry. Here, I’m praying for a miracle, that I survive again this sadistic 102 Kms race.

Fa’ar Nobleza took this in the last 5 kms of the race…with Ultrarunner George Dolores.

At the last 3 kms…

As I reached this km 100 mark in 16 hours and 30 minutes, I only have 2 kms to go to reach the finish line. I knew from there that I’ll gonna make it in a sub 17 performance…

Finally…in 16 hours 52 minutes and 42 seconds, I reached my destiny -my 5th Ultramarathons, beating my last year’s performance in more than 30 minutes.

So tired, so lapsed…but so glad to claim my prize!

Now ask me, “Why run a 102K?” My simple answer is this, “Why not?”

My friend Mon, also made it in 17 hours and 13 minutes. Congrats bro, you’re now an Ultra-runner!

I’ll share with you my thoughts regarding this race next time. More pictures to follow.

Thank you SPYDER for my eyewear. I used it even at night. 🙂

God be Praised!

***********************************************************************************************

3/8/2010 Donors Update HOLY RUN on HOLY WEEK 250 Kms RUN For the Chosen Children From Luneta to Baguio City…

Dante Oliver P50

Robert Cruz P50

Erick and Let Guieb P500 (received)

Mesopotamia P25

L.Aniel P25

Amazing Grace P35

Conrad Aquino –

Abet son P50

Juvy Pagtalunan –

Jinoe and Quennie Gavan –

code name:Matthew P5 per km for every km that I can run

code name: Pinay from Boston $50 ( already received)

Billy and Mai San Juan P1,000

Danny Almendrala –

‘Anonymous’ UK30 (already received)

You can deposit your donations on my BDO Savings Account no. 598-002-7964, Fernando de Lara, on or before March 25, 2010. After doing so, send me a notification via sms to this number 0928-5548057. That ‘foundation’ monitors this activity via this blog and my facebook account, so you can have the assurance that your money will be given to them.

God be Praised!

Actions

Information

13 responses

9 03 2010
run unltd.

Congrats. PR na naman.

9 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Vener…thank you. see you this coming Thursday.

9 03 2010
Let

Congratulations Sir Ronnie, you did great. 🙂

9 03 2010
ronald_rei

congrats boss! lufet!

9 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Thank you Let for those cheers and encouraging words along the route. You and Christie did an amazing job of inspiring me and the rest of all runners. See you this coming Thursday,give Erick my big hug. God bless.

9 03 2010
runnerforchrist

Nald…I enjoyed the last 2kms with you. Imagine, we have ran a 100 kms that time and to be able to still run up to the finish line was an amazing feat. Thank you for company. God bless you in camsur. 🙂

9 03 2010
dhenztm

Congratulations Sir for a great finish and a new PR! 🙂

9 03 2010
runnerforchrist

dhentz…I congratulate you too.See you at the party.

9 03 2010
jazzrunner

Congrats, Ronnie! Another feather in your cap!

9 03 2010
topher

congratulations to all of us!

see you all next year!

docT

9 03 2010
kenleyjones

Congratulations! Great Pictures. You really have a story to tell indeed. Thanks for the feedback in the earlier posts. Could you send me more information on donations at kenleyjones2004@yahoo.com? Thanks.

9 03 2010
argonautquest

Congrats Sir! It was nice seeing you on the road…

9 03 2010
sundaywarrior

Hi Ronnie congrats again and may God bless you on your holy week mission..

Leave a Reply

