Self-Sacrifice!

12 03 2010

“Those things which are precious are saved only by sacrifice.” -Daniel Webster

Once in a year, we commemorate the death of our Savior, Jesus Christ. This sinless man died so that we may live. He sacrificed so much so that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Once in a year too, I will make a Holy Run and I will set it every Holy Week. This is the time to get out of my comfort zone, to suffer and at least to feel what it looks like to be a sacrificial lamb for a Worthy Cause.

While many will go to vacations, beach hoppings, out of town activities and galore of possible luxuries during Holy Week, I chose to suffer by running from Luneta to Burnham Park  Baguio City, an approximate distance of not less than 260 kms on March 28 to April 2, 2010. This Run is for the benefit of a ‘charitable Institution’ of my choice. For this year, I selected the ‘Chosen Children’ Foundation in Silang Cavite.

Now, for those who will join me, thank you very much in advance. This run will be full of sacrifices.

-Food, vehicular support, lodging etc will be shouldered by each runners. To each his own.

-We will run as a Group or as a Team, and I’m the Pacer. My target is just 8 mins per km but not slower than 10 mins per km. This is just a Holy Run and we have 4 days to complete this task, so there’s no need for us to hurry.

-Cheating is not allowed! We will cover every distances. No short cuts. God is our Witness and we will document it.

-Our target for the first 3 days is 70 kms each, 35 kms in the morning and another 35 kms in the afternoon. We will start at 12 midnight in the first day, 4 am on the second and third day and 5am on the last day. In the afternoon, we will start at 4 pm until 9pm. We will not run from 10 am to 3:59 pm. for we will respect the scorching heat of the sun.

-All runners who will run with me have the rights to withdraw anytime. It will not be taken against them, but I will continue my quest.

-No freebies, singlet, recognition, cash incentive or any provisions will be given to those who will join me. I will just mention them here in my blogsite after that event.

-A waiver will be distributed and need to be submitted before March 30, 2010. I will not be responsible for any possible accidents that can or may  happen on the course of this event.

-All the proceeds of this event will be given to the ‘Chosen Children’ Foundation on April 5, 2010. However, runners can solicit for their own sponsors  so that they can have funds to be used for their own good during this 4 days Holy Run.

-In my own estimate, my expenses for this Run will be P25,000 up but not more than P30,000. and I’m praying for God’s provisions. I’ll be renting a van for 5 days, gasoline, cheapest lodging, food, supplies, will hire a driver plus an assistant and many other things to consider.  This is a sacrifice not only physically but financially as well.

I’ll keep you posted from time to time.

Let me thank this marvelous woman whom I’ll not reveal  her full name at this time. She sent P2,000 yesterday and she told me to use it as my budget. This woman is from Dubai. At the end of this run, allow me to reveal your full name.

Another new friend will send through Xoom.

To all of you who support and believe in this advocacy of mine, you’re too cool! 🙂

Your sacrifices will not only be rewarded but you made me proud and I’ll be forever grateful.

Thank you very much.

God be Praised!

***********************************************************************************

3/11/2010 Donors Update HOLY RUN on HOLY WEEK 250 Kms RUN For the Chosen Children From Luneta to Baguio City…

Dante Oliver P50

Robert Cruz P50

Erick and Let Guieb P500 (received)

Mesopotamia P25

L.Aniel P25

Amazing Grace P35

Conrad Aquino –

Abet son P50

Juvy Pagtalunan –

Jinoe and Quennie Gavan –

code name:Matthew P5 per km for every km that I can run

code name: Pinay from Boston $50 ( already received)

Billy and Mai San Juan P1,000

Danny Almendrala –

‘Anonymous’ UK30 (already received)

Pinay from Dubai P2,000 -to be used as my budget. (already received)

You can deposit your donations on my BDO Savings Account no. 598-002-7964, Fernando de Lara, on or before March 25, 2010. After doing so, send me a notification via sms to this number 0928-5548057. That ‘foundation’ monitors this activity via this blog and my facebook account, so you can have the assurance that your money will be given to them.

God be Praised!

Actions

Information

One response

12 03 2010
runnerforchrist

It’s not abet’s son, but Abet;s youngest brother 🙂

Leave a Reply

