Power In London Marathon!(The John Power 42K Story)

22 03 2010

“The road of life can only reveal itself as it is traveled; each turn in the road reveals a surprise. Man’s future is hidden.” -Anonymous

Once a week, I’ll feature a friend on this blog site. This is to acknowledge what he/she accomplished in the Sports called RUNNING  and to inspire us further.

Let me begin with a biking classmate and a true friend, John Power. John who was born in Ireland but migrated in England at the age of 9 is a strong biker. He was with me when we conquered Tiaong Quezon Province, Talisay Batangas, Magallanes Cavite, Caylabne Ternate Cavite and many others. He presently residing in Binan Laguna, just a 10 minutes run from my place.

In one of our conversations, I asked him what other Sports he liked most other than biking and to my amazement, he told me he ran a lot during his prime. I interviewed him and got a very big surprise when he showed me his running credentials…

I want you to meet John Power, a humble guy with so much accomplishments on his credentials. Here, in our biking trip to Magallanes Cavite.

A portrait of him in one of his biking competitions…

No wonder he is  such a strong biker…

Now, let me show you his running accomplishments:

The ‘yellow’ highlight at the right portion was John’s official result in a 42K race.

1982 London Marathon

His first marathon was 4.09.41

1983 London Marathon

His time 3.23.26!

1984 London Marathon

His last Marathon was a 3.35.02!

John did it ‘back to back to back’ during those times with amazing PRs. He just kept it to himself for so long although he heard that I’m an ultra-runner and he visited this site frequently just to see pictures of our biking adventures.

John Power is a true Filipino and very hospitable. In fact, every time we have a biking trip, he always invited us for a refreshments, a coffee break or  a heavy meal.

At John’s house in one of our biking trips.

John…thank you very much for allowing me to feature you on this  blog site. It’s my pleasure to know you and to have a good friend like you. Welcome to our country and may you have many more friends, longer life and a bountiful one.

I only have one wish…that you join another marathon here in the Philippines.🙂 Although you only run occasionally and biking is now your forte, you can still try RUNNING, and with your PRs like that, I’m sure many runners will eat your space dust, including me.🙂

See you on the road, whether in biking or running, no problem.

To God be the glory!

*************************************************************************************

3/21/2010 Donors Update HOLY RUN on HOLY WEEK 250 Kms RUN For the Chosen Children From Laguna to Almost All Towns of Cavite

Dante Oliver P50

Robert Cruz P50

Erick and Let Guieb P500 (received)

Mesopotamia P25

L.Aniel P25

Amazing Grace P35

Conrad Aquino –

Abet’s brother  P50

Juvy Pagtalunan -P500 (already received)

Jinoe and Quennie Gavan –

code name:Matthew P5 per km for every km that I can run

code name: Pinay from Boston $50 ( already received)

Billy and Mai San Juan P1,000 (already received)

Danny Almendrala –

‘Anonymous’ UK30 (already received)

Pinay from Dubai P2,000 -to be used as my budget (already received)

Kenley Jones $50 (already received)

Jerry Lita -mineral water and Gatorade

You can deposit your donations on my BDO Savings Account no. 598-002-7964, Fernando de Lara, on or before March 25, 2010. After doing so, send me a notification via sms to this number 0928-5548057. That ‘foundation’ monitors this activity via this blog and my facebook account, so you can have the assurance that your money will be given to them.

God bless you All!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

