The Strongest Bone…

3 08 2010

“God will sometimes break the strongest bone in your life when you think you’re very strong, so that from now on, you will say that the strongest part of  you is…not your job, not education, not pleasure, not family, not friends, not what you attained or who you are -but God alone!” -text message from a friend

In one of my running sessions…

My plan of joining the PAU 65k in Aug. 29, 2010 in Pagudpud Island Ilocos Norte suddenly came to naught when our new work schedule was announced last Saturday -I have a duty every Sunday for the next 3 months. My new work schedule will be Sunday, Monday, Wednesday and Thursday from 3 am up to 2 pm. So, it means I’m on rest days on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday.

What a schedule!

I’m still working it out to swap my Tuesday’s off to Sunday but  I’m still waiting for the approval of my co-officemate. If he will agree and someone will give me another Off on Monday in exchange for my Tuesday’s off the next week, then I can join PAU 65k.

What an irony. For the last 4 years, I can join races anywhere and anyhow. But now, things have changed. I can no longer control my schedule.

Like what the content of my quotation above, sometimes, God will break our strongest bone, not to make us bitter-but to make  us better.

I’m not a saint or trying to be one, in fact, I’m also a sinner. I have my ups and downs,. There was a time I became a prodigal son. I ran away from God because I can’t understand His mysterious ways.

-Why there are so many injustices in the world?

-Why men are not created equal?

-Why godless men fluorish and godly men perish?

-Why He allowed suffering for some while giving success for some?

I have so many questions during those times. I ran away from Him.

Until one day, as a newbie runner then…He spoke to me and  He revealed Himself to me like never before.

“Ronnie, someday you will understand WHY.”

And so I rested firmly on His words. Since then, I never questioned Him again WHY?

Instead, “Why not?”

What we have now is not permanent. Our job, family, education, strength, ability, skills, time. money, fame, power, influence, and even joining races…

I will always be a runner, but this time, not on Sunday’s races.

To all my running buddies out there – I miss you all.

Hoping to see you again sooner or later.

The strongest bone can be damaged or injured but it will definitely be healed and restored -in His time.

Keep looking UP!

God be praised.


Actions

Information

3 responses

3 08 2010
moji

nice quote!….you are blessed!
ingatz lagi, mwah!🙂

6 08 2010
kenleyjones

Ronnie, I hear you on the work schedule thing. I am only doing one race this year, the Half Marathon in Sept. because of my work schedule. I am off on Sundays but most local races here (5k-10k) are held on Saturdays. Though I do not do many shorter distances, I have to ask for time off months in advance for anything big. I suppose that we runners have a race to run every day called life. What we need to ask ourselves is “Are we being a lead runner by being an example for God, or are we in Dead Last following the World’s ways?” I am extremely happy that you found your way back into the fold brother. That is the most important thing above all. When ever you feel that you have come to the end of your rope, just hold on tight man. Hopefully your schedule will let up soon. Hang in there. God Bless.

14 08 2010
muzacmercer

I recently wrote a song about the Prodigal Son. This is my testimony of God’s amazing grace in my life. If you have a sec here it is. Thanks for listening

Leave a Reply

