Kilimanjaro!

14 08 2010

“The Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I’m only a child.’ Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you.” -Jeremiah 1:7-8

During a Sprint Triathlon…March 2010.

I’m always amazed by those simple and yet talented individuals who can do great things magnificently. Take for instance the short story that I’m going to share today. Read on:

In August 1973, eight-year-old Samantha White of Washington, climbed to the top  of 19,340 foot Mount Kilimanjaro. She is believed to be the youngest person ever to conquer Africa’s highest mountain. Her father, United States airman, dropped out at 18,640 feet with altitude sickness.

Amazing! A woman who was not yet on her prime then and yet can do great things like that.

As I read that story, I asked myself, “Can I do that?” Given the same opportunity and equal talents, I will try but since I have ‘fear of heights’, I don’t know what will happen to me as  I reach the summit. Or  will I  do the same thing that her father did – dropped out due to altitude sickness? God forbid.

If Samantha White is still alive today, I want her to know that I’m now her avid fan. I believed she practiced a lot and trained hard for it.  I understand how difficult it is to climb a mountain as high as that. I read a book, “Into Thin Air” and I’m so fascinated with the adventure up there, conquering Mt. Everest in a month or so.

In this life, what is your Mt. Kilimanjaro? A tough race, a life’s challenge, a difficult career, a turmoiled realtionship or unstabled health?

Whether we like it or not, all of us will face  Mt. Kilimanjaro. It’s either we will conquer it or we will drop-out.

May God give us the strength and courage like that of Samantha White…

Keep looking up. : )

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

2 responses

22 08 2010
sprintingswine

really nice post sir!

29 08 2010
runnerforchrist

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

