Richest Man

24 09 2010

“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.” -Anais Nin

While running this morning, my pal  and I  talked about so many things including the latest news he read, that the richest man in America is once again -Microsoft’s founder, Bill Gates with an estimated asset of not less than $54 billion. I told him while smiling that I would like just for one week to feel and experience like  Bill Gates do, something that many of us wished, just for a change. I just can’t imagine what it would be like buying things you want without looking at the prize, travel all over the world and join races, become a philanthropist, manage your own time and have galore of aides and manpower to assist you. Also, with this huge amount of money, you can have fame, power and influence.

With due respect to Mr. Gates, I’ve read in some articles couple of years ago that his story is very inspiring, just like a Cinderella Story. From being nothing and unpopular then, he persevered until he reached the pinnacle of success. With right attitude, temperance and of course-superb knowledge, he is now an icon in a business world and we owe to him the luxury of using a computer with ease and comfort.

As my  friend and I stopped after running 2 hours and 5 minutes to buy fresh buco juice to hydrate ourselves, he asked a me a question which is also my question long time ago: “If you’re rich and successful, does it mean God is with you?” I paused for a moment and answered  him, “So you mean to say that if you’re poor and unsuccessful, does it mean God is not with you?” We both smiled as though we knew the answer very well.

In my own point of view, it is a big mistake  to assume that God’s goal for your life is financial prosperity or material  success, as the world  defines it. The abundant life has nothing to do with material abundance, and faithfulness to God does not guarantee success in a career or business. Way back in 2003, I put up a restaurant business, made God my business partner and offered Him 10% of my income to be used in the Ministry, but after only 6 months of operation, I closed that restaurant due to bankruptcy. During those times, I’m faithful to Him, with a good motive  and prayed a lot, but doing those things cannot guarantee success.

Similarly, Paul was faithful, yet he ended up in prison.  John the Baptist was faithful, but he was beheaded. Peter was faithful, but he was crucified upside down. Stephen was faithful, but he was stoned to death. Of all the 12 disciples, only one died a natural death -the rest, by martyrdom. Millions of faithful people around the globe  have been martyred and have lost everything. They lived in poverty or have come to the end of life with nothing to show for it.

I do not have all the answers for tough questions like that but I have one question to ponder as I end my post today: “Why did I place so much importance  on things that were so temporary?”

Keep running but remember to enjoy the scenery!

To God be the Glory.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2010
kenleyjones

Very thought provoking as with all of your posts. Thank you for sharing. Now if we can spend as much time with God in the Bible as we do with our running shoes on. Rich or poor, God has a goal for every one. Take care!

28 09 2010
runnerforchrist

nice insight Kenley. I’m looking forward in seeing you in person soon. God bless.

Leave a Reply

