Down But Not Out!

9 11 2010

“If you want to smile through your tears , if you want to rejoice through times of suffering, just keep reminding yourself that what you’re going through isn’t the end of the story…It’s simply the rough journey that leads to the right destination.” -Charles Swindoll

 

A couple of days ago, I suffered a stomach upset which eventually turned into an illness called ‘amoebiasis’. The last time I have this kind of sickness was in the year 2002 where I was hospitalized for  days. The doctor told me then that once you have it, you’re a carrier for life.

What is amoebiasis? According to Wikipedia, it is a gastrointestinal infection that may or may not be symptomatic and can remain latent in an infected person for several years. Amoebiasis is estimated to cause 70,000 deaths per year world wide. Symptoms can range from mild diarrhea to dysentery with blood and mucus in the stool. It is transmitted through contaminated food and water.

We can prevent it by following these simple steps:

  • Wash hands thoroughly with soap and hot running water for at least 10 seconds after using the toilet and before handling food.
  • Clean bathrooms and toilets often; pay particular attention to toilet seats and taps.
  • Avoid sharing towels or face washers.

To help prevent infection:

  • Avoid raw vegetables when in endemic areas, as they may have been fertilized using human feces.
  • Boil water or treat with iodine tablets.
  • Avoid eating Street Foods especially in public places where others are sharing sauces in one container.

For more info, visit this website http://www.wikipedia.org/wiki/amoebiasis

God forbid it to happen during races since we don’t know when and where this illness will attack.

Because of that, I was not able to train for 5 days but had a good time in flexing my muscles with the use of my ‘improvised gym’ inside my house. Since I can’t run, I can lift weights right in front of my comfort room, just in case.

I’m thankful to God for giving me another days to live.

That’s it for today.

See you at the road my friend.

God sometimes put us to deep waters not to drown us but to cleanse us.

God be Praised!

 


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

