Can’t Join PAU T2N

12 11 2010

“Hear what others say to you, but remain in tune with your own inner voice.” -selected

Sad news for me: I can’t join PAU T2N this coming Sunday.

Reason: My request for swapping of schedule was disapproved so I can’t have my rest day on Sunday.

I shared my dilemma to a running buddy of mine and a bosom friend, Jack Marcos during my visit to Laguna.  We talked for more than 2 hours  and I’m so enlightened with what he shared to me. He told me about his spiritual journey and his breakthrough as a runner and Christian worker.

Everything that happens to us is with a purpose although we can’t understand it at this moment.

Jack is an outstanding runner. We ran together in our first marathon way back in 2006. We ran  side by side in so many races. Until I relocated in my new home,  I have never seen Jack for almost 6 months now.

He told me about his running program and  his life now as her mom passed away. When her mom died, he became closer to the Lord.

That day of sharing was one of the best days of my life, for in there, he prayed for my anointing.

And I received it wholeheartedly.

I still have so many questions about life and  why my prayer to join PAU T2N was not granted.

“All things work together for good. You may not understand it now, but you will know. I’ll explain the reasons why someday. Just TRUST Me,” says the Lord.

Let me share with you about anointing. This topic is very important. I pray that you too will experience it -for your protection, blessing and empowerment.

“What is the anointing? What does it mean to be anointed?”

Answer: The origin of anointing was from a practice of shepherds. Lice and other insects would often get into the wool of sheep, and when they got near the sheep’s head, they could burrow into the sheep’s ears and kill the sheep. So, ancient shepherds poured oil on the sheep’s head. This made the wool slippery, making it impossible for insects to get near the sheep’s ears because they would just slide off. From this, anointing became symbolic of blessing, protection, and empowerment.

The New Testament Greek words for “anoint” are chrio, which means “to smear or rub with oil, and by implication to consecrate for office or religious service”; and aleipho, which means “to anoint.” In Bible times, people were anointed with oil to signify God’s blessing or call on that person’s life (Exodus 29:7; Exodus 40:9; 2 Kings 9:6; Ecclesiastes 9:8; James 5:14). A person was anointed for a special purpose—to be a king, to be a prophet, to be a builder, etc. There is nothing wrong with anointing a person with oil today. We just have to make sure that the purpose of anointing is in agreement with Scripture. Anointing should not be viewed as a “magic potion.” The oil itself does not have any power. It is only God that can anoint a person for a specific purpose. If we use oil, it is only a symbol of what God is doing.

Another meaning for the word anointed is “chosen one.” The Bible says that Jesus Christ was anointed by God with the Holy Spirit to spread the Good News and free those who have been held captive by sin (Luke 4:18-19; Acts 10:38). After Christ left the earth, He left us the gift of the Holy Spirit (John 14:16). Now all Christians are anointed, chosen for a specific purpose in furthering God’s Kingdom (1 John 2:20). “Now He who establishes us with you in Christ and has anointed us is God, who also has sealed us and given us the Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee” (2 Corinthians 1:21-22).

For more info, kindly visit http://www.qotquestions.org/anointed

Recommended Resource: The Quest Study Bible.

We exist not only to live but to serve God. And in this world full of temptations and love for materialism, we need anointing for empowerment.

See you at the road my friend.

To God be the Glory!

“Watch yourself. The higher you are, the farther you can fall.”


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

