Bragging Right

19 11 2010

“We are all the hero of our own story.” -Mary McCarthy

After running in 2 hours flat last week.

My friends who are not runners always asked me this question, “What did do I get from running an Ultra-Marathon?” I answered them with this very simple reply, “I just want to conquer places by means of running and to prove myself that I am physically fit to do it.”

I am not an elite runner who  run for the prize or for the ranking. I am not also running to get the bragging right of being called ‘ultra-runner or triathlete or duathlete’ whatsoever. I ONLY enjoy running so much that it is now an integral part of my daily life. Take it away from me and I’m dead already. I can do it in the morning, in the noontime or at night. Literally speaking, I was able to run the whole provinces of Cavite and half of Laguna.

For me, there is no BRAGGING RIGHT for all things are only dependent upon God’s grace. Without God’s strength being manifested in our lives as a runner, we cannot finish a race. We should not rely on our abilities, speed or strength. God is the sole owner of it all and we should acknowledge HIM always for what we have accomplished, be it in our career, family and hobbies.

Always remind yourself about this verse found in the Holy Scripture, “IF ANYONE IS GOING TO BOAST, LET HIM BOAST ABOUT WHAT THE LORD HAS DONE, AND NOT ABOUT HIMSELF.”

We have no bragging right to boast, only sufficient grace to proclaim. Make JESUS your HERO and not yourself or your accomplishments.

See you at the road my friend.

God be Praised!


Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2010
Joy

wow! so now perhaps you already discovered practically all the roads of Cavite.
You are very inspiring! I wish I have the guts to go beyond the covelandia.

Leave a Reply

