The Beast In You!

7 01 2011

“When I do the best I can with what I have, then I have won my race.” -Jay Foonberg, 72-year-old runner

There is a native American parable about two beasts  fighting inside every man. One is filled with fear, anger, greed, pride, lies and ego; the other is full of joy, courage, peace, love and hope. A warrior asked the tribe leader which beast would win. The elder answered, ‘The one you feed.’

The year 2010 was now a history and we’re looking at another year,  – 2011 and we may wish to ask the same question, which beast would win?

For me, last year was the most tragic year of my life but I still consider it to be a good year.  It was during that year that I experienced the hardest blows, betrayal and lies which almost torn me into pieces, and I have to admit that there were times that I literally abandon my faith. Questions like, “Lord, why did You allow it to happen?” and “Why me?” kept on cropping in my mind like never before. No amount of positive thinking can help me that time and so my spirit can’t soar. I was so demotivated, feeling low and depressed. In a snap of a finger, I almost lost my everything as I saw myself  being humiliated and humbled to the ground.  I don’t want any progress anymore and so my running program was also affected resulting to a decline  of my participation in any races. Suffice it to say that ‘depression’ is killing me badly.  it seems that the bad beast  is winning and has the upper hand.

Until one fine day, I read this from the Scripture:

“You have given me Your salvation as my shield. Your right hand Oh Lord, supports me. Your gentleness has made me great. You have made wide steps beneath my feet so that I never slip. You gave me victory in every battle. Many times You have miraculously rescued me. You will pay back those who harm me…” -Psalms chapter 18

Ahhh those words are enough for me to continue. And never again will I doubt my Lord.

The beast  metaphor is a powerful one because I know from experience that the choices we make  have power to control our lives.

Which beast will win in your life this year 2011? Always remember that the one you feed will always dominate.

See you tomorrow in FAT ASS 24 hours Race in Clark Pampanga.

God be Praised!

 


 


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 01 2011
Joy

this post is really inspiring.
this reminds us of how to pick up oneself and move on.
I never noticed that “low” feeling in any of your posts last year until this.
you are a very positive person and a strong warrior.
good luck on your 24hr? run😀
i hope someday I’ll be able to run for 24 hrs hahaha
i’ll wait for that story and what see from your perspective what it’s like.

regards,
joy

7 01 2011
runnerforchrist

Hi Joy> thanks a lot for that encouraging words. Comment like this will always help me. I learned how to take a beating, then get up and do what I need to do. Like in running, life has many obstacles and we must reach the finish line no matter what.

God bless you and your family, thank you again for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

