Wrong Direction?

24 01 2011

“If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction. ” – Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Don’t be surprised if I tell you that many professional athletes spend their leisure time listening to music. So do a lot of us.

William Congreve, an 18th century English dramatist, use these familiar  words, “Music hath charms to soothe the savage beast, to soften rocks, to bend a knotted  oak.”

That’s why sometimes, during my LSD, I listened to music to strengthen and motivate me further.

A phrase I still hear occasionally is  ‘All Shook Up’, a phrase made popular by the late Elvis Presley. In  Aug 29, 1977 issue of Newsweek Magazine, there was an interesting article about this man. It was titled, ‘All Shook Up.’ Elvis was born dirt-poor in a little town in Mississippi, the only child. At the young age of 18, while making $14 a week as a truck driver, he, just on a lark, decided to make a recording. And he became the best paid male entertainer in history of America. At age 23 he lost his mother.

Just before his death at age 42, he wished he could find one week when he could just live a normal life, going up and down the streets of his city without being harassed. He would pay million dollars, for one week of peace.

Pat Boone said of Elvis, “I cared a lot for him.” He said, “He went in the wrong direction. Ironically, we met for the last time when I was going toward  the east and he was on his way  to Las Vegas. He said to me, “Pat, where are you going? And I told him I was going to be involved in some kind of ministry. And he says, “Hey I’m going to Vegas Pat, as long as I’ve known you, you’ve been going in the wrong direction.”  Pat Boone answered, ‘Elvis, that just depends on where you’re coming from and where are you going.’ ”

There comes a time in my life that I’m headed to a wrong direction too. That  path for me  seems right but unknown to me, the end of it is the way of death. I’m glad that the ONE up there rescued me and showed me the right way to go.

I just open my heart to Him and made Him my Lord and Savior.

If you’re in the wrong direction, call Him now. He is more than willing to help you.

God be Praised!

See you in the Condura 42k race on Feb. 6, 2011.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

