An Interview With My “Angel” In White Uniform!

21 05 2009

“There are no failures- just experiences and your reactions to them.” -Tom Krause

In my previous post, I have presented already the Doctor who  diagnosed my leg injury for FREE! I considered him my “angel” for his kindness and benevolence towards me even though I’m a total stranger to him and vice versa. It’s also an honor that he accepted this short interview inspite of his very hectic schedule. Needless to say, we’re so fortunate to have a surgeon who is also an elite runner. The running community is proud of you, doc, not because of what you did to me-but first and foremost, you have a big heart!

dr-paiso-jose-martin-s

paiso2

(Doc, If it’s still okay with you…there will be a part 2 of this interview?, for the first part is very basic. Don’t worry, nothing personal-only about running and your profession)

runnerforchrist:  When did you start running?and why?

Doctor Jose  Paiso: 70’s- 80’s
During my teens when we lived inside a base and as part of training for different sports: soccer, baseball, basketball etc.
My friends would knock on my window as early as 4am to run. Back then, the air was clean, streets were paved and safe and there were not too many cars in the road. We did not have computer, psps or gameboys and our mothers always wanted us out of the house (and out of their hair) during the daytime, so we ran! Thank you mom;)

Even when we left the camp and I went into college and medical school, running freed the mind from the books.

90-00’s
Waned off during orthopedic training days and I also seriously injured my knee which prevented me from enjoying running ;(

Slowly got back to the habit slowly together with swimming and cycling in 2003 as part of a “cardiac rehabilitation” for hypertension at exactly the age of 40.

I got surprised that the knee slowly became “cooperative” and this year it was good enough to join races. A “resurrection” of sort and still evolving

runnerforchrist: Can you share with me your running secrets (if any).How did you develop that “speed?”

Doctor Jose Paiso: No secrets…just put in the time for training and it will pay off and remember you can’t reap what you didn’t sow.
Speed? For me it seems to be Hills and maintaining the cadence and form while going up and crosstrain (biking and leg work in the gym). I’m sure there are better ways

runnerforchrist: Your running Events and PR? (please….)

Doctor Jose Paiso: So far:

RUNew 15k 1:15:01
DocFIT 2 10k 46:20
Condura 21k 1:46:42
Men’s Health 2nd Miracle Run 10k 45:05 unofficial (up to now)
Greenfield Run 21k 1:45:06
ATC Southern Race 10k 44:43
SUBIT 2009 Tri-Relay Swim 1.5k 34:27 10k 45:27

runnerforchrist: Most unforgettable experience during practice or event?

Doctor Jose Paiso: Being run over by a sleepy tricycle driver at 4am! How about that? No injury and I went on to finish my run, thank God

runnerforchrist: Advice you can give to any neophyte/veteran runner?

Doctor Jose Paiso: Neophyte – Listen to the Veterans (there’s a story for each mile) and don’t overtrain, or expect instant results. You’ll just get injured and then lose interest.

Veterans – Step up to the plate. Set the example, remember people look up to you and DON’T EVER STOP RUNNING, Life is motion, motion is life.

runnerforchrist: Last, any mantra while running?

“The Lord is My Strength and My Salvation” ….He NEVER fails!

Thank you Doctor Jose, God bless you always.!

His Other Credentials:
Residency Program

  • Philippine Orthopedic Center, Quezon City
    • Specialty Board Certification

    • Diplomate, Philippine Board of Orthopedic; Fellow, Philippine Orthopedic Association International:

      Fellowship

    • Kenton D Leatherman Spine Fellowship, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY, USA
    I think we all wish we could erase some dark times in our lives. But all of life’s experiences, bad and good, make you who you are. Erasing any of life’s experiences would be a great mistake.

    Luis Miguel quotes


    Actions

    Information

    15 responses

    21 05 2009
    The Running Ninja

    I’m so wanting to interview this doc. Ronnie, you think you can give me his email address and will do an email interview instead? 🙂

    Sam
    The Running Ninja
    http://www.therunningninja.com

    21 05 2009
    runnerforchrist

    I”ll ask for his permission first, Sam. I’ll give you update after my TNF100.
    God bless.

    21 05 2009
    cynthia

    Classmate- thank you for featuring his interview. He is an admirable doctor and runner. I hope I get the opportunity to meet him through you when I come visit next year. I’m off for the next 2 wks due to my doctors advise. Hope to catch you online after TNF100…Good-luck, Take Care and God Bless!

    21 05 2009
    marky_mark

    The Lord is My Strength and My Salvation” ….AMEN to this … He never fails !!!

    very funny experience that hit by asleep tricycle driver …=)

    hi sir i read some of your blog i really enjoy reading your blog… it supprise me that there is a runnerforchrist that im a member of climbforchrist that y it supprise me i love to run to & climb at the same time hope i can meet you sir goodluck on your TNF100 i realy like that blog that you said you finish 102K y can’t finish 100K ? … & you really inspired me about just enjoy the trail… run cause it will be once(TNF100 Sacobia) only next year it will be diffent TNF100 or in a different place … another inspired me about your family your driver can’t come .. that is another challege that God bring us …but having faith will do no worries … thank you sir for the inspiration

    hope i can meet you at TNF100 i join 10K my first 10K =)

    GOD BLESS !!!

    21 05 2009
    runnerforchrist

    I can set for an appointment with him, and you take good care out there. Be healed-In Jesus Name.

    21 05 2009
    runnerforchrist

    To God be the Glory Mark…this blog is for Him and I’m running for Him. I’m glad to know you and your group “climbforchrist” is really awesome to hear. Hoping to meet you and the other members of the group.
    “In everything we do, be it running, climbing or anything-ALL must be done for His glory” It’s the reason why we are here and have our being. That is the real purpose of life.

    God bless and see you in TNF.

    21 05 2009
    The Running Ninja

    …man his PR are not to be ignored! He’s quite fast!

    25 05 2009
    marky_mark

    Sir Mark here again … im very glad my first 10K race i finish with the help form above … im very happy ! …

    sayang sir d tyo nagkita sa TNF maybe some other race or khit hindi race hope to meet you someday sir

    God bless

    fs:markfer150@yahoo.com
    multiply:markfercastillo
    ym:mark_fer10@yahoo.com

    hope we can chat sometimes sir

    30 05 2009
    runnerforchrist

    Mark…after I DNF I went home immediately, hoping to see you some other time.
    God bless.

    14 07 2009
    buy_vigrxplus

    Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked reading your blog posts. Anyway
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you post again soon!

    21 07 2009
    Ramona Reuella Kabigting

    he’s my doctor!
    he’s very good and was able to correct my scoliosis from 53 degrees down to something like 8. i was surprised to learn he liked to run a lot.

    21 07 2009
    runnerforchrist

    Thank you Mam Ramona for the visit…and Doc is an elite finishing 9th overall in Mizuno race.

    21 07 2009
    LnddMiles

    The best information i have found exactly here. Keep going Thank you

    22 07 2009
    runnerforchrist

    Lnddmiles…Thanks for the visit. God bless you too.

    2 09 2009
    Bill Bartmann

    This site rocks!

    Leave a comment